We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the top... best dinner ever!!!”

Orchids at Palm Court
Reserve with OpenTable
Orchids at Palm Court is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,969 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Race Street
Transit: TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.
Description: Orchids at Palm Court is an award-winning fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Executive Chef Todd Kelly is the American Culinary Federation's 2011-2012 USA Chef of the Year, the highest honor given by the 50,000+ chef organization. “Top Cincinnati Restaurant” by Zagat (2011, 2012, 2013) and named "One of the Top 100 Restaurants in USA" and "One of the Top 100 for Best Service in USA" by OpenTable, 2011, 2012 & 2013; AAA 4 Diamond (2006-2012). Orchids offers a contemporary American menu that is seasonally updated with local ingredients. With breathtaking French Art Deco including two-story Romanesque murals, rare Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel wall sconces & an original Rookwood fountain featuring two large seahorses all restored to the 1930s grandeur. Complimentary valet parking.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Top of the top... best dinner ever!!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

I'm usually not impressed by restaurants but this one is one of the best experiences we have ever had. Orchids is the kind of restaurant that would exceed anyone's expectations!

This place is classy!!!

Let me say that the staff is extremely friendly, knowledgeable and professional.
The ambience is great for a romantic or business dinner.

We had:

House made bread
foie gras and grilled pork belly (appetizer) Amazing!
Lobster salad (second course) Wow!!
Duck breast & beef (main course)
Chocolate cake (desert)

Lovely.

Valet parking: complimentary
Reservations: accepted (a must)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swadeshi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    119
    28
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wowza wow wow”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

So, the restaurant advertises itself as the #1 restaurant in Cincinnati set on the 2nd floor of a hotel, and I thought to myself, 'nah', how good could it be?

For my wife's birthday, we went. The hotel called me beforehand and asked me for her name, and there was a birthday card awaiting her at the table.

From there on in, we were in for a treat, from the head waiter suggesting a wine to pair with my lamb, to always having the water glasses full (but not too much), to servers coming to deliver and take away services. Service is an A+++ here and I was absolutely thrilled.

The food was excellent: a unique (and expected) amuse-bouche, excellent bread with three very different accompaniments. The lobster salad was amazing, as was their take on a caprese where they make the mozzarelly into a balloon. The wife's duck breast was perfectly done, and my lamb was very good, if a little small. Dessert on the prix fare was excellent as well with a trio of lemon, coconut and chocolate (sorbet, ice cream, brownie).

All of this, seven courses in all, and two glasses of wine, and coffee, for $145. That's value.

It's an great experience in an amazing art deco old style but extremely chic dining room with absolutely impeccable service.

A nice dinner for $100-$120 can be had at many restaurants everywhere. Spent the extra $30 - $50 and treat yourself to something very special. You'll remember it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boymimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So Freakin Civilized”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

this place has a vast history and everything in it is authentic. it underwent a renovation back in the eighties and to their surprise they discovered all of the beautiful paintings and would work hidden below slabs of drywall. to come here is truly breathtaking it is an amazing place in the middle of the city that is been there forever. it boggles the mind to think how many people throughout the decades have gone there to escape. it's like having a great bar and restaurant in the middle of a fine art museum.like stepping back in time. it isn't just a place to eat or drink it is truly an experience you must share.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeCiccarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
2 reviews
“A special 33rd Aniversary Dinner.”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Thank's! Orchids at Palm Court
in Cincinnati for making our aniversary a very special one, with great food and your great staff that provided great service we both really enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 77Chas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great hotel restaurant”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My dining experience was one of the best I've ever had in a hotel restaurant. The menu, although small, provided excellent choices for 3-4 courses of fine dining. Each course was excellent, well-prepared, and used seasonal ingredients. I had a salad of mache, grilled fruits, and pancetta for an appetizer. My main course was duck breast, prepared medium rare with a crusty outer edge and accompanied by glazed cherries. Throughout, the service was impeccable, with numerous servers taking care of our meal, and the manager stopping by to check on us several times. Be sure to visits Orchids at the Palm Court of the Hilton for fine dining in a beautiful surrounding.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esandespdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchids at Palm Court also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Orchids at Palm Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing