We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful dinner in sumptuous surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orchids at Palm Court

Orchids at Palm Court
Reserve with OpenTable
Orchids at Palm Court is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,952 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Race Street
Transit: TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.
Description: Orchids at Palm Court is an award-winning fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Executive Chef Todd Kelly is the American Culinary Federation's 2011-2012 USA Chef of the Year, the highest honor given by the 50,000+ chef organization. “Top Cincinnati Restaurant” by Zagat (2011, 2012, 2013) and named "One of the Top 100 Restaurants in USA" and "One of the Top 100 for Best Service in USA" by OpenTable, 2011, 2012 & 2013; AAA 4 Diamond (2006-2012). Orchids offers a contemporary American menu that is seasonally updated with local ingredients. With breathtaking French Art Deco including two-story Romanesque murals, rare Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel wall sconces & an original Rookwood fountain featuring two large seahorses all restored to the 1930s grandeur. Complimentary valet parking.
Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Beautiful dinner in sumptuous surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Based on reviews by Trip Advisor we decided to try this restaurant. The moment you walk into the Hilton and approach the restaurant, you are enveloped in sumptuous quiet surroundings. I was so busy looking around that I almost forgot to look at the menu. We had appetizers, entrees and desserts and were not disappointed. The service was impeccable. We would love to dine at this restaurant again if we are in the Cincinnati area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SondraTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    110
    27
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Grand experience, but a little OTT.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stay at the Hilton when Im in Cincinnati, so, this is the restaurant as part of my hotel.

In the lift lobby, there is a big picture advertising Orchids with a huge looking fillet steak. Unfortunately, and to my complete disappointment, this is not on the menu!

The menu at Orchids is very limited, though you can order from the bar menu, you are not allowed to eat anything that may be consumed with your fingers (e.g. burger)

The steak I did have was, by US standards, extremely small, about 8oz I would guess (although, this is not actually noted on the menu).

The other foods on the menu are well presented "posh" food, rather than hotel restaurant fayre...and the dishes are charged at the over-inflated prices because of this.

Its nice to have such a place within the hotel, its just rather a shame that the current chef only wants to cater for those coming from outside the hotel for special meals, rather than the business traveler staying at the hotel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LLG_sunguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
195 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very grand place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The wife and I were staying in the Hilton Netherlands overnight after a Reds ballgame, we decided to stop in here for a nightcap and a bite before retiring to our room. The atmosphere is very grand and the surroundings very beautiful a must see. We ordered a couple of drinks and enjoy the entertainment for the evening,I believe it was jazz. My wife wanted a burger to eat and we placed an order but the lady forgot to place the order in the kitchen, she apologize profusely we told her that was okay but she insisted that our tab for the evening was taken care of. This place is a must stop in at when you're in Cincinnati. Very beautiful you don't see many places that look like this anymore. Oh by the way we finally got the burger it was very good and the french fries for some reason was the best I think I've ever ate.

Helpful?
1 Thank hoosierboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The most grand of the grand.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We always start out in the bar of the palm court in the Netherlands Hotel. The bar almost too beautiful to believe. The drinks are always perfect. Moving from the bar to the dining room you find an equally beautiful space with marble, mahogany and art deco masterpieces all around you. The food will not disappoint you. I had a fish that was perfectly prepared. Business or romance, this is always the right choice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the Best Dining Experience Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Unbelieveable unexpected surprise. Amazing place. We were there for the weekend for a getaway not planning to have dinner here. Didn't even know about the place but it was downstairs so we decided to give it a try for dinner. Food, ambiance, service all unsurpassed. Every course was seasoned perfectly with complex layers and textures. Sunday brunch the next morning was equally grand. So many choices and SO MANY desserts! Throw your calorie and fat counter out the window, get some exersize and prepare for an amazing experience. One note: we ordered a bottle of wine and the sommelier opened and decanted our wine in the back! Unheard of! The wine was awful and we sent it back. Hopefully this has been corrected. We voiced our concern to the management who promised to address it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fdsa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchids at Palm Court also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Orchids at Palm Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing