We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Place for that Special Occasion”

Orchids at Palm Court
Reserve with OpenTable
Orchids at Palm Court is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,965 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Race Street
Transit: TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.
Description: Orchids at Palm Court is an award-winning fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Executive Chef Todd Kelly is the American Culinary Federation's 2011-2012 USA Chef of the Year, the highest honor given by the 50,000+ chef organization. “Top Cincinnati Restaurant” by Zagat (2011, 2012, 2013) and named "One of the Top 100 Restaurants in USA" and "One of the Top 100 for Best Service in USA" by OpenTable, 2011, 2012 & 2013; AAA 4 Diamond (2006-2012). Orchids offers a contemporary American menu that is seasonally updated with local ingredients. With breathtaking French Art Deco including two-story Romanesque murals, rare Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel wall sconces & an original Rookwood fountain featuring two large seahorses all restored to the 1930s grandeur. Complimentary valet parking.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“This is the Place for that Special Occasion”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

With the foodie trend to chef-run restaurants where the sole focus is on the food, I thought places like this were gone. The place is beautiful, intimate, attentive and delicious - all in one. I can imagine many couples getting engaged here. Everything was superb from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. We were greeted and seated at a very nice table. Our waitress was on the spot and didn't waste a second congratulating my son on his college graduation. In fact, everyone that walked by the table took a second to stop and congratulate him. The restaurant is just beautiful, the tables are comfortable and spaced far enough apart that you don't hear the other diner's conversations. Dinnerware is fine bone china and silver. The bar is an art deco masterpiece. Come early and have a cocktail it to extend the experience. There is live piano music that is just the perfect volume to compliment the place without inhibiting conversation. Service is impeccable with a team of at least four people looking after each table. And the food was better tasting than anything I have ever experienced in addition to being the most beautiful to look at. We recommend the Beet Salad, Blue Cheese Beignets, Lamb Duet and Red Snapper "En Papillote". The latter being the most creative fish dish I have ever seen or eaten. In addition to our order we were surprised with an Amuse Bouche, a small bowl of their Asparagus Velouté, a Cookie and Candy sampler and a take-home container of their delicious homemade Granola. If you love fine dining, this place has to be on your restaurant bucket list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geomom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    119
    28
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Dining”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I had not been to Orchids in years, so imagine my surprise when I discovered their creative menu. A variety of selections to fit every taste. The food is presented beautifully with all the old-school touches. For example, all the plates are delivered to the table under heavy silver serving covers and on cue, the wait staff uncovers all the plates en mass. Each plate was a work of art and perfectly prepared. The wait staff is knowledgable, friendly and efficient. The whole experience was terrific. And, did I mention that our party of six could actually hear each other speak?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best dining experience overall that we have had in many years”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Start with the setting - This Art Deco style Gem of a hotel opened in 1931 and is a registered National Historic landmark. It has been meticulously maintained and is simply remarkable. One would truly not be surprised if Bing Crosby were to stroll across the lobby. Peek into the Pavilion ballroom and you can certainly imagine Doris Day up on the stage (This is actually where she began her career at age 15 singing with a big band). The restaurant is located in the Palm Court which was once the main lobby. The ambiance is exceptional.
Next the food – Everything from the bread to the sorbet is made on site under the great care of a master chef. Food is served in a more continental style, i.e., smaller portions with exceptional taste usually preceded by a small complimentary morsel, each with its own unique ingredients and taste. By the end of the meal I felt appreciative that the portions were smaller because you were definitely filled by many unique tastes.
Then the service – Wait staff was exceptional. Always there at the exact appropriate moment but certainly not hovering. These were true professionals not mere students.
Do make a reservation for dinner and, if possible stay the night in this hotel. It is also exceptional and a further enhancement making the overall experience a true step back in time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gahanna, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The food was 4- Star. (nothing to dislike) We had froie gras for our appetizer and split a beet salad. My husband had the duck breast and I had scallops. Desserts were out of this world also. Service was impeccable. Will certainly return again when in Cincinnati, OH

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food In An Historic Setting”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I recently decided to detour a couple hundred miles out of our way to stay at The Netherland Plaza and celebrate our anniversary at Orchids. A good decision, confirmed by USA Todays' subsequent ranking of Orchids as a Top 10 American restaurant!

The ambiance, food and staff were all excellent. I suggest arriving at least 45 minutes before your reservation time, to allow time for a self-guided tour of historic areas of the hotel. Doing so will increase appreciation of your dining experience. You can pick up short brochure about the hotel's fascinating history at the lobby concierge desk. Don't miss the display case near the historic site marker.

We shared the Maine Lobster "Salad" (no greens here) and Blue Cheese (Maytag) Beignets, both unusual, surprising and outstanding. The medium rare Chauteaubriand for Two, nicely prepared tableside, was perfect. Our headwaiter Paul and the maitre'd Charles were knowledgeable, pleasant and conversational, without being intrusive.

No complaints, just a great time for money well spent. Don't miss Orchids!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aarpskier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchids at Palm Court also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Orchids at Palm Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing