We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“My favorite birthday lunch spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchids at Palm Court

Orchids at Palm Court
Reserve with OpenTable
Orchids at Palm Court is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,878 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Race Street
Transit: TANK bus stop across Race Street. Metro bus stop within one block.
Description: Orchids at Palm Court is an award-winning fine dining restaurant located in the National Historic Landmark Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza. Executive Chef Todd Kelly is the American Culinary Federation's 2011-2012 USA Chef of the Year, the highest honor given by the 50,000+ chef organization. “Top Cincinnati Restaurant” by Zagat (2011, 2012, 2013) and named "One of the Top 100 Restaurants in USA" and "One of the Top 100 for Best Service in USA" by OpenTable, 2011, 2012 & 2013; AAA 4 Diamond (2006-2012). Orchids offers a contemporary American menu that is seasonally updated with local ingredients. With breathtaking French Art Deco including two-story Romanesque murals, rare Brazilian rosewood, German silver-nickel wall sconces & an original Rookwood fountain featuring two large seahorses all restored to the 1930s grandeur. Complimentary valet parking.
Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My favorite birthday lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I love the choices, the art filled atmosphere, the courteous wait staff, the fresh pasta grill. Eating is an experience that I have gladly shared with friends and family several times. The prices are very good for such a lovely place.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank joyousdona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    94
    24
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One of a kind award-winning restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Wonderful food and art deco decor. There are paintings and mural designs everywhere which apparently were found and restored during certain phases of renovation.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ron114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary at Orchids and were extremely pleased with the service, food and ambiance. What a culinary and architectural gem! This is the perfect place for a special occasion. Top notch!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ABPtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Service Ever / Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I went to Orchids with another couple in February 2012. To be honest I wasn't very excited because in 2010 I went to Orchids and the service was horrible.

But this time we had the best dining experience of my life. The service was darn right magical....simply perfect. My wife and I have eaten at some of the best restaurants in SanFransico and Chicago and Orchids service was hands down the best. Much better than even Chicago's Les Nomades which starts at $115 per person. I hope Orchids can continue to offer this level of service. We actually saw the other couple that we dined with recently and they mentioned that Orchids is the best service they've ever had and they have been all over the world.

What made the service so special? Well, there were multiple servers who simultaneously unveiled each plate on large silver platters. The main server was efficient, didn't go on and on about specials, pleasant, chilled out...just made for a relaxing night. They started the meal off with a small FREE tasting and then there were several other FREE tastings in between meals....one was an egg that had a soup in it...tasted great...looked amazing. And we never felt rushed. There is plenty of space between the tables. The decor is incredible.

The food is very good....some dishes are perfect...some are very good...again, I'm comparing them to restaurants that cost twice as much so it isn't really fair. The bottom line is we can't wait to go back.

Cincinnati is very lucky to have a restaurant of this caliber.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cincy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in an incredible setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Palm Court is an old art deco building that house one of the best restaurants in Cincinnati, Orchids. My husband and I recently had dinner there with friends for a 60th BD. The room is absolutely beautiful and sitting there looking around at all the history made we wonder why we don't come here more often. Service outstanding. Food out of this world! We all had something different and no one was disappointed. Even if you stop for drinks at the bar it will be a treat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank judie210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchids at Palm Court also viewed

 

Been to Orchids at Palm Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing