We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city views”
Review of Carew Tower

Carew Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
The Nati in a Nutshell Cincinnati Food Tour Including Carew Tower Entrance Fee
Ranked #9 of 187 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newport, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great city views”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went to the top of the Carew Tower at the advice of our neighbor. He aslo wanted us to see the Art Deco style of the building itself. The ride to the top was quick, but the elevator up the final five floors to the stairs was a little claustrophobic. The admission price for adults was just $2.00. We loved it because we could identify places we have come to know since moving here last November. However, after some discussion, we felt that there should have been some type of placques on each wall indicating points of interest in Cincinnati such as the Music Hall, stadiums, and universities. If you are not from the area, you might not know what you are actually viewing. We also thought there should have been some pretty summer plantings on the rooftop. It would have made it so much nicer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    151
    37
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Heights, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Closed during business hours”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Carew tower observation deck was one of the items on our to do list on our Cincinnati visit. We made certain choices like staying at a more expensive hotel, etc. It is supposed to open at 10:00AM on Sunday. After enduring a claustrophobic rickety old elevator to get to a staircase in need of a good cleaning that leads to the observation deck it was closed. So we descended the dirty stairs. The rickety lift to the 45th floor and down. If you want to open at 10:15 or 10:30 fine but be open during the published hours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Optiker909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice and Fast Sightseeing”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went on a Sunday afternoon and there wasn't any line. It's not the easiest to find, but there's a security/info desk located at the bottom so just ask. You take the elevators to the 45th floor, then get on a separate elevator or take the stairs the rest of the way, about another 4 flights. $2 per person fee, then you just walk out onto the open roof. Great views of the city and the surrounding area. Probably will take 30 minutes max., it's cheap, and a great sight. Would recommend!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank blahPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Heart of history in cincinnati, very classy establishment enriched in old school style. Architecture is beautiful and romantic to the eyes. Plus very good views from the tower of a very beautiful city at night or day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

It's not well signposted but well worth the effort to seek out this place. $2 gets you the whole city at your feet. Amazing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NickJS_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carew Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing