We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but worth every dime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlo & Johnny

Carlo & Johnny
Reserve with OpenTable
Carlo & Johnny is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 1,893 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Following the Jeff Ruby tradition of fine dining in unique settings is Carlo & Johnny. This beautiful mansion has a storied history as a casino and Mafia hangout, adorned with antiques and unique appointments. As for the menu, it's in keeping with the Jeff Ruby tradition; delicious, innovative, and out-of-this-world. And with 15 steaks, it's Ruby's most comprehensive menu ever. The old Hollywood glamour and delicious cuisine promise a meal and experience to remember.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Expensive, but worth every dime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This above TOP SHELF restaurant was recommended by friends and this visit was to celebrate our anniversary. Service is spectacular and the wait staff is there to handle ALL your needs. The raw seafood bar is wonderful, if that's your thing. We love oysters, shrimp, and crab and our server put together and generous array which could not have been any fresher.. Most restaurants prepare a steak "close" to how you like it, but this time.. our steaks were PERFECT! and very juicy. Side dishes are a la carte and plenty to share.. The server told us that desserts are different every night. IF you have room for a taste, I'd recommend you skip the raw seafood and salad. Unfortunately, we didn't and couldn't stuff another piece of food in our mouth.. Excellent place, but probably best for special occasions and not a weekly or monthly event.. too indulgent! Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveLadyDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    47
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
95 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best steak in a 60' atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I had a had a dinner twice this week at C&J and both evening food and service were amazing. One of best cut of meat I have ever had, my preferred one is none in filet but also NY strip is very good. As side course a macaroni & cheese so tasty...service is simply perfect. Bravo Ruby!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosario1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Birthday Celebration!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

There were five couples celebrating my daughter-in-laws birthday. We all ordered a variety of different courses. My son and I ate wonderful oysters. We all had different steaks and seafoods and no one did anything but brag about the food. We thought we had the best and then we all got dessert.Wow!- Another Jeff Ruby success!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eggwoman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service is over the top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Husband and i went for Valentine's dinner. We had a wonderful dinner, steak, salad and veggie to share. The steaks were outstanding. The only drawback is the wait staff. Alot of interruptions and different servers stopping by to check on us. While some may appreciate the attention, we were having trouble getting through a conversation at times! Not the best experience, but may be that they were trying to turn tables due to the 'holiday'. I'm sure we will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SheriP419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have eaten at other Jeff Ruby restaurants but this was the first time at Carlo and Johnny. The steak and shrimp were cooked to perfection. So tender that you barely needed to use a knife. The Freddie Salad was excellent as well as the sides that we ordered which included Mac and cheese, mushrooms, and spinach. The desserts and Coffee at the end of the meal were excellent as well. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlo & Johnny also viewed

 

Been to Carlo & Johnny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing