We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Try The Stir-Fried Oysters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China Gourmet

China Gourmet
Reserve with OpenTable
China Gourmet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #345 of 1,878 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Hyde Park
Cross street: Marburg
Citrus Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Try The Stir-Fried Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife & I try to get to the China Gourmet about once/month - especially on a (Tuesday) night if they are having their lobster special (I like it Cantonese style). Their specials change, so it helps to check their website menu for the current special-of-the-day.

But anyway, on our last trip my wife decided to try their Stir-fried Oysters and they were EXCELLENT! - Super plump and juicy. I was amazed at their size! (they come from Virginia) because we had been down at Apalachicola, FL this summer (where they do a LOT of oystering) and their local oysters were positively puny by comparison.

And we had lots of other good things - The Hot & Sour soup, and the 100% soup, and the Duck Spring Rolls.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tideline_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding Chinese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I've been dining at China Gourmet for almost 30 years. It is outstanding. The "gourmet" in the name is what you get. Great food, expertly prepared, served professionally, tables with tablecloths, in a comfortable atmosphere that's not too formal but not too casual -- just right. Many of the staff have been there for years. This restaurant is very well known among the locals, and we see many of the same people time after time. They usually have several off menu items and specials, so be sure to ask about these. But I've never been disappointed by anything I've tried. After experiencing this restaurant for so long, I find it very difficult going to other Chinese restaurants including the well known chains.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelpro513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had an exchange student from China, who was looking to have a taste of home. THe owner came out and talked to her for a while, before deciding on something that was not even on the menu. She enjoyed her emal, and we enjoyed the extar effort by everyone there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PDRLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dicent selection food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

As chinies buffet it is dicent place. I been here few times an thinking would be ne to add some think in atmosphere of this buffet or lower price or give a coupons to a repeted gouests for some % off next time dining in.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“China Gourmet. Favorite restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This my favorite restaurant. Not the typical American Chinese restaurant. This is the real thing. A neighborhood (Hyde Park) favorite! Great service and ambiance. My favorite foods there- New chicken with lo mein noodles, Steak kew, Sea bass- in fact any of their fish, chicken fried rice, szechuan green beans, asparagus, hot n sour soup, spring or egg rolls......just to name a few. I had a new appetizer for me last week- barbequed shrimp- wonderful! This restaurant is the absolute best! Some of the dishes are the Moy family recipes. They will customize to your tastes and offer different sauces.
You can eat at the chains in any city but only China Gourmet here in Cincinnati. When I travel I look for the local food and experience- that truly is the best and this restaurant is one you do not want to miss.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pamloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to China Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing