We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a spectacular birthday dinner”
Review of Brown Dog Cafe

Brown Dog Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Brown Dog Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #85 of 1,975 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Blue Ash
Cross street: Pfeiffer and I-71
Mason, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not a spectacular birthday dinner”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Don't know what I was expecting, but was a little disappointed. Had the seared ahi tuna, friends had salmon and lamb, the three of us thought it was good, but not great. My husband, however, loved his game plate, which included venison, pheasant and something else in the ravioli. The bread was delicious. The meza plate appetizer was ok but not great for $7.95.

Helpful?
Thank Vera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    59
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
“Reliable and interesting”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Brown Dog is a place we say why haven't we been there in a while? The food is excellent, the atmosphere relaxing, wine choices better than beer choices but both good. Went there with "new old friends" and all liked their choices - lamb duo, rare tuna, stone bowl, the evening's fish special. One of the gems worth travelling for and parking easy in its surprising location in a strip shopping center set back from Pfeiffer Rd (it may be a bit hard to find your first time if you've not been there before but easily "gps-able").

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HydeParkMtLookout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Perfect.”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Exactly what we were looking for.... Personal environment, tasty treats, delicious wine... Definitely don't miss this gem.

Helpful?
Thank zredbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rang in the New Year....”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went here for New Years' Eve -- they had a special menu & flat price for the event... and excellent food, as always. We went at 5:30 PM... before the price went up at 6:00... and we were glad we did. We didn't dawdle, but there were four courses... all delicious (especially the lobster bisque). We didn't even get wine or dessert and it took almost two hours -- by the time we left, there were people stacked up everywhere... at the bar, in the tiny entry, and in the parking lot. This is a very small restaurant -- it appears they over-booked & under-estimated. Even though the atmosphere was much rowdier than usual (of course), the servers were very pleasant & helpful, so it was a lot of fun... but the later people had a very long wait, I'm sure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanythW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meals as well as Service”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were with a group of 10 who had dinner here on a Friday night and could not have asked for a nicer experience. This is a relatively small restaurant with seating for 70-80 and yet they handled our group along with all their other clients without a glitch. The menu offers a wonderful variety of choices ranging from rabbit to wild boar and everything we had was outstanding. Our table was located in the front of the restaurant and happily we did not have any difficulty hearing each other (which is a problem in many restaurants). Our waitress did a super job with the drink, food and dessert orders.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CincinnatiVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Dog Cafe also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Brown Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing