We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“FANTASTIC WORTH YOUR EFFORT TO GO” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brown Dog Cafe

Brown Dog Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Brown Dog Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 1,934 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Blue Ash
Cross street: Pfeiffer and I-71
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC WORTH YOUR EFFORT TO GO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

we were referred to this restaurant by family relatives, we were driving through Cincinnati and decided to give it a shot. I will never regret going there. I had a steamer pot as a appetizer beautifully executed -- shrimp, mussels, scallops in a steaming and savory broth with "cuban bread' which went great to soak up the broth. Then I had a salad fresh just the right amount of dressing and all fresh greens. For the main course I had the wild boar cooked perfectly and full of flavor, came with a duck confit and southern greens. My partner had the rabbit empanadas as a appetizer and baby bleu salad, and the lamb chops just perfect. For dessert I had their trio of "homemade" ice cream. Again, all I can say please make it a effort to go. We went on Monday night and thank God we had reservation it is a small restaurant and fills up quickly. Along with all this praise the service is spot on excellent service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    52
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

'Brown Dog' is one of our favorite restaurants. Small, tucked away, comfortable booths, nice wine list and full bar, and we particularly love the appetizers and salads. We make a meal of those at the end of a long day. Fresh, seasonal ingredients with a nice range of main courses as well. Excellent service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cameliah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The raves are accurate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in the Blue Ash area and decided to try the Brown Dog based on its proximity to our hotel (5 minute drive) and the great reviews on Trip Advisor. It turned out to be a great choice. Although it was a Saturday evening and we had no reservation, we were greeted promptly by the friendly host who led us right to the only empty table in the place. The interior is warm and inviting and very well appointed (belying its understated exterior appearance in a retail strip plaza). Service was attentive, wine list broad enough to satisfy a range of tastes and budgets, the menu is varied and eclectic with everything freshly prepared. Awesome breads. We were too full for dessert but the offerings looked very tempting. Not cheap, but worth the price. Figure $40-50 per person with a glass of wine and dessert.... More if you add appetizers or salads.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brown dog is top dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Tucked into a strip mall setting, one doesn't expect much when entering. First glance at the menu will raise your expectations as they offer both traditional dishes as well as interesting entrees that you may not have tried before. Then the food arrives and any remaining hesitation is quickly abandoned. Highly recommend the Brown Dog.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tfitz928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A strip mall secret!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This restaurant way outshines its surroundings! What a surprise find. I was visiting from out of town, found this restaurant through TripAdvisor, and gave it a try. With a group of 4 on a Saturday night without a reservation, we were seated in 10 minutes. Our waitress was highly knowledgeable and friendly, and went out of her way to make the party happy. I enjoyed the Mediterranean plate (hummus), the NY strip as my entree, and the chocolate/banana cake. Everything was fresh, cooked to order, and professionally plated. The price tag was reasonable for what I felt was a 5-star dining experience. The fresh baked bread with marinated/roasted garlic cloves was the icing on the proverbial cake! If I am ever in Cincinnati again, I will make it a point to visit the Brown Dog Cafe again. Great experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodguy7176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Brown Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing