We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of our favorites!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Dog Cafe

Brown Dog Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Brown Dog Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 1,892 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Blue Ash
Cross street: Pfeiffer and I-71
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We've been going to this restaurant for years - it is our all time favorite. The food is prepared very conscientiously, is delicious and not your usual fare for Cincinnati. The wait staff is like family and never steers you wrong if you need recommendations. Highly recommend it!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2genes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    49
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good as remembered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

it had been awhile since we had dinner here but never for lunch..took our grandson there for his 25th birthday lunch and we all three agreed it was very tasty..and believe me grandson is picky..give him a bowl of rice(white yet!) and he's happy..his italian sandwich looked delish but our salads (chicken citron) and bleu chicken ) were fresh, seasoned perfectly and neither of us generally eat the bread we got seconds on this one . it was valentines day so they were busy although it looked more like business lunches happening and service was slow but to his credit the owner pitched in busing and bringing that good bread to us. we plan to go again for lunch and dinner..it's in a small shopping area but nearby are ursuline academy and the crown plaza hotel ,so if you pass one of them,you've gone to far..it's access. by 71N,exit pfeiffer rd. worth the effort.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gloria a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great food in an odd location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We visit Cincinnati regularly but this was our first time at Brown Dog Cafe even though - apparently - they've been around for 15 years. The restaurant is located in a small strip mall, just off I-71 in Blue Ash, quite a distance from downtown. From the road, you would almost miss it. The interior of the restaurant, while pleasant, is nothing special. But the food redeems everything! Really superb, creative cuisine. The Hawaiian game fish was excellent, as were all of our main dishes. The desserts were also fantastic.

There's also a terrific wine list with a selection of fine, reasonably priced bottles. Service was friendly and knowledgeable. It may be a hike from downtown Cincinnati, but it's worth the drive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedstoneBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brown Dog Cafe...Consistently Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I just had dinner with a work group at the Brown Dog Cafe. As is so often the case at the Brown Dog Cafe the service was great and the food was superb. The menu changes frequently, but regularly features a wonderful and diverse offering of wild game (Tonight Venison, Wild Boar, Quail) along with Fresh Fish brought in daily from Hawaii and classics like the NY Strip and also Scallops.

First time visitors might be suprised by its location in a "strip mall" next to a Subway restaraunt. Don't be deterred, the "Brown Dog" is fantastic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JCTTXAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect bistro for lunch or dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Whats better than fresh food prepared by a trained chef, without the outrageous price?!! Lovely atmosphere, clean, fabulous service with awesome food. Can't go wrong!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dustinthewind7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Dog Cafe also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Brown Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing