We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innovative Japanese restaurant”
Review of KaZe

KaZe
Reserve with OpenTable
KaZe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 1,975 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Innovative Japanese restaurant”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were looking for a restaurant that was close to Music Hall and which had a good selection of non-meat offerings. Kaze was a happy discovery. The food was interesting, attractively presented, and delicious, and the service was attentive. I found the background music rather loud, but I don't like background music in general.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glboh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    44
    28
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another great OTR place”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is great. Service: excellent. Food: excellent. Atmosphere: excellent. I would highly recommend this place. Living in the DFW area now, but glad to see OTR continues to grow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJB99usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bring your own flashlight”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were curious about this restaurant as it is in the old Cincinnati Color building and the original sign is still there. The interior is modern but very dim. It may be my age, the font on the menu or the color of the print but I could not read the menu even with my glasses. The waitress provided us with flashlights. We were fortunate not to be seated at the visibly uneven table. The staff is polite enough even though a man in a tie informed me that the women's room was downstairs when I tried to get a look in the bar area in the back for a future visit. The food was good but probably will not try this again as OTR has many other restaurants.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Street Recommendation!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were wandering around Cincinnati’s Over the Rhine area like the tourists we were and asked some locals for a dinner recommendation. They suggested Kaze, located down the street from where we were. I would like to thank those locals now because it was an excellent recommendation. The restaurant is beautifully finished and the menu reflects an interesting assortment of Japanese fusion selections.

We started our meal with an order of Niku Sliders (short rib, cucumber, Kimchi, Korean BBQ) and Pork Buns (crispy pork belly, apples, frisee, and mustard vinaigrette). Both selections were delicious. For dinner we shared a Boom-Boom Roll (big eye tuna, salmon, snapper, cucumber, avocado with yuzu marmalade) which was also delicious.

Service was excellent. All in all an enjoyable evening with good friends, good conversation and delicious food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DearDona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Solid for Sushi!"”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Took a group of 12 to kaZe on a monday night. Excellent service as we ordered multiple rounds of appetizers and sushi. The sliders were outstanding and the sushi very fresh. I asked the group for a rating and they went for 3 1/2 stars as they felt the food was very good but not quite to a 4-5 star level.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KaZe also viewed

 

Been to KaZe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing