We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Days of Cod Sandwiches - Day 2”
Review of Friendly Stop Cafe

Friendly Stop Cafe
Ranked #254 of 1,970 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level Contributor
108 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Three Days of Cod Sandwiches - Day 2”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stopped at Friendly Stop Cafe with friends/couples for dinner, after a rain-interrupted round of golf. Located in the tiny Village of Glendale, this is an easy-to-miss tiny storefront of what would be an old-fashioned tavern complete with Norms, Cliffs and Carlas- style characters - plus surprisingly good food and very reasonable prices. There is a small back room for added dining space ( walk behind the bar to get to the stairs to this room); plus a large deck in back for outside dining/drinking.

The server took drink orders and passed out menus. For a small tavern, the food selections were quite good! - burgers (a specialty), sandwiches, salads, dinners. One of our group asked about the meatloaf which was recommended; the server zipped out and came back with a hunk of meatloaf and enough forks for tastes for all. Very good!

I ordered the fried cod sandwich, with a small-extra-cost side of onion rings; one slice of bread, please. The food was back in good time, piping hot. The portions of cod were generously large and easily could have been enough for two sandwiches at another restaurant. Breading was light, color honey-brown and taste delicious including the tarter sauce. Onion rings very good as well. Everyone agreed - a job well done.

Kudos to me for noticing a sign as we entered, that Friendly Stop offered $10 buckets of 5 beers during Cincinnati Reds games. Double kudos to my brother-in-law Jon who saw that the Reds were tied up in inning 11 - and changed the order to two buckets.

The Reds ended up losing - but we won with Friendly Stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FLandOhDannyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
524 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“The Perfect Neighborhood Bar”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I started to go her in the late 1970's into the early 80's when I move far away. It was just a friendly and fun as I remembered. Blue collar- sure but the ladies my age in dresses on a Sunday evening should tell you how friendly and fun it is.

Had a craft beer that you can afford- delicious- warm and friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Hangout”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

On that gloomy late fall or winter day, The Friendly Stop is a great place to hang out, have a sandwich, grab a beer, and watch the game. In the spring or summer, sit on the roof deck, sipping a friday afternoon Long-Island Iced Tea while munching on some cajun fries.

The corned beef or turkey rubin is excellent!. Stacked high with very lean corned beef, kraut, and swiss cheese, it is grilled to perfection and served with a pickle spear. The friday seafood chowder is good. Not memorable, but flavorful with chunks of salmon and shrimp, creamy, and hot.

Good bar selection, good service. And a nice friendly ambiance that is neighborhood in feel and welcoming. The name says it all The "Friendly Stop" is just that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wearybuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
504 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Good Food, Cozy Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A group of 12 of us descended on this place in early afternoon after a volleyball tournament. Luckily they weren't very busy when we entered and we got good service although it was a strain on the waitress/barkeeper since we all descended at once.

This place is on Congress just around the corner from Sharon Street. There is a very small parking lot (8 to 10 cars) around back of the place with little maneuvering room, but there was plenty of street parking available. It has a very nondescript street front, but if you like neighborhood bars with good sandwiches, this is your place. Even though I don't drink (there were plenty of people in our party who took care of that) I did enjoy my cheeseburger with a side of tater tots. The burger was hand made and very fresh. I forgot to say how I wanted it cooked but it came out very nice with a small amount of pink in the center. Many members of our party got the CBS (chicken breast sandwich) cooked in a variety of ways and they all seemed to enjoy it.

The waitress apologized for the slow service, but I did not notice it. Perhaps because we were having a relaxing time talking.

BE AWARE: they only take cash. I understand that they installed an ATM after a few people were caught unaware of this policy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Illinois_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great little place for something different.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a great little place with good food. Great place to go when looking for somewhere unique. Enjoy the desserts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philstafferontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friendly Stop Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Friendly Stop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing