We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Aronoff Sunday Brunch”

Nicholson's Tavern & Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
Nicholson's Tavern & Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 1,979 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Scottish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th
Description: Located in downtown Cincinnati across from the Aronoff Center, Nicholson’s is a restaurant and bar serving fine food and drink in a genuine Scottish tavern setting. Taking inspiration from the public houses found throughout Great Britain, our goal is to provide our guests with authentic hospitality and a brilliant dining experience. In addition to high-quality food, we offer a wide variety of beer, wine, bourbon, craft cocktails and feature one of the best selections of single malt scotch whiskies in the area.
Dayton, OH
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pre-Aronoff Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nicholson was recommended by a friend for brunch prior to a matinee performance at the Aronoff Center. Seemed like a nice place, good atmosphere. Since the place was fairly busy, we decided to go with the brunch buffet rather than order off the menu too save time. Not a good choice.

The food was at best average, the biggest problem was waiting for clean plates and food to be brought out. Noticed three or four plates with food still on them that had been set aside by others at the head of the buffet line. Gentleman behind me had to ask for clean plates. Took three trips to finally be able to try the various items offered, even then the bacon was cold, eggs runny.

Would probably go back to give them a second chance, but will definitely order from the menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at Nicholson's Tavern & Pub, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank your for bringing this to our attention. I'm sorry that you had a bad experience with our brunch. We'd like to learn more about what happened so we can make any necessary changes to our system or training. If you would be willing to speak with our GM regarding your experience please send your contact information to info@tavernrestaurantgroup.com and our manager will follow up with you at your convenience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    146
    50
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We went to Nicholson's after the ballet at the Aronoff. We had a large party with reservations and they were able to seat us early. The waiter (Caden) was prompt and courteous and the food was good. The pumpkin encrusted trout was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Cincy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at Nicholson's Tavern & Pub, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Glad we were able to accommodate your large party! I will make sure Caden is recognized for his great work. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Drink”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A great place to go and enjoy a drink with friends! They actually had London Pride beer on tap... Very good!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CM V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at Nicholson's Tavern & Pub, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed your London Pride! Hope to have you back soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Late night fun”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by after a show (place is directly across the street from the Aronoff Center -Cincy's big theater). Wait staff was excellent even though the place was packed (ask for Katie-she is an actress)-food was good and hot. Think Irish pub food with a twist. Check it out after a show.

Helpful?
Thank Porthos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at Nicholson's Tavern & Pub, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for the review and recognizing our service and food! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
“Was okay”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The food was good. Servers were polite. Although we were seated back in a booth and felt forgotten about a few times. The prices seemed high for the amount of food you received.

Helpful?
Thank Angi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Guest Relations Manager at Nicholson's Tavern & Pub, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you taking the time to write a review and share your experience. We apologize that you felt forgotten. We never want our guests feeling this way and would like to make sure this never happens again. We would like to hear how we could have made you feel more comfortable and if we can make this up to you. If you are willing, please send your information to info@tavernrestaurantgroup.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicholson's Tavern & Pub also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Nicholson's Tavern & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing