We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ribs”

Jim Dandy's Family BBQ
Ranked #104 of 1,954 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In true Cincinnati fashion, at Jim Dandy's Family BBQ we make a BBQ that's all our own: fresh meat, never frozen, cooked low and slow over a wood fire. From our roadside roots to our warm, welcoming atmosphere, Jim Dandy's Cincinnati Slow-Fired BBQ is authentic, traditional, one-of-a-kind good. You're gonna love it like a local.
Ironton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The ribs were very good, Potato salad was very good. Very family friendly and the smell of the smokers were enough to draw you in. Will be back next time I'm in town

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reminded me of home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I liked the portion sizes, the difference sauces that was offered was remarkable, the macaroni was excellent and who would've know sweet cornbread could set off some BBQ. There was nothing disliked about this choice. P.S. the Saratoga chips were wonderful, they tasted like a higher brand of Grippos potato chips

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meia347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Comfort Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a family favorite! We love eating a healthy, delicious meal, especially when it's served up with a smile and even a prayer from Jim Emig himself. This restaurant began as a hobby and turned into a successful business. The secret is the mouth-watering food and the personal attention guests receive. He enjoys a very loyal following of devoted customers.
Great for serving a group on a tight schedule, too. We've brought our kids' sports teams here for a healthy meal between tournament games.
We've twice ordered a smoked turkey for our Thanksgiving dinner. It's an unparalleled treat for the family. And, a nice break for the family chef.
My mom has been battling a health problem. Her appetite has been erratic, but one thing we can get her to eat is carry out from Jim Dandy's. Jim has been praying for her and our family since her diagnosis. How many people go this far out of their way for their customers?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
380 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very good meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Baby back ribs were very good. Red beans and rice was good Saratoga chips very good. Very clean and service was excellent. Friendly staff. Will come back on my next trip to Cincinnati

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigo1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Fast service with cafeteria style ordering. I had the two meat sampler. The meat was tender and the hot BBQ sauce was really good. Got the red beans and rice, collard greens, and corn bread for sides which were all great. I would definitely recommend this place for some BBQ!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank anonymous59185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jim Dandy's Family BBQ also viewed

Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Jim Dandy's Family BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing