We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Spent two nights for business at the 21c Museum hotel in Cincinnati. The lobby looks like a modern art gallery. Quite a surprise. The room was absolutely perfect with a lot of attention to details. It is the kind of room you take pictures of to show your friends. Excellent, large, comfortable bed. Variety of pillows. Giant, modern bathroom. Excellent lighting. Flawless WiFi connection without the need to re-enter a complex code every 20 minutes. On the first morning, the in-room breakfast was 15 minutes late but staff reacted extremely well to my complaint. All in all an excellent experience. Unfortunately I did not have the time to experience the spa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    110
    16
    13
    9
See reviews for
100
281
17
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Having enjoyed Louisville's fabulous 21C over the past 7 years, we were overjoyed to see this addition to the fold. What a great recycled hotel building, location, art, restaurant...and a rooftop bar to boot! Not cheap, but worth it!

We splurged and even got a separate bedroom unit. It was an anniversary celebration and I had asked the front desk to arrange for a floral arrangement to be in the room upon our arrival. Since I only thought of that the morning of the day we were to arrive, I gave them a price range and asked them to use their own judgement, though some roses would be nice. We were stunned by the beautiful vase of roses and eucalyptus encountered as we entered our room. A surprise to us both was awaiting in the bedroom. One of the hotel's signature yellow penguins was in the bedroom looking out the window! The shower/bath was probably the most modern and extensive we've seen. Wow!

Like Louisville's 21C, you meander around the public areas to discover and view all the art, much of which will change out every six months. Friday evening we had a wonderful meal in the restaurant. Our valet-parked car was quickly retrieved for us Saturday for a trip up to Mt. Adams to the main art museum. We returned in the afternoon for a walk next door to the huge Contemporary Art Center (CAC), then walked a mere block and a half to the Blue Wisp Club for dinner and some fantastic jazz show. We returned for a trip up to the beautiful rooftop bar. On a Saturday night, It was crowded with younger adults but still enjoyable.

The package rate we chose for a modest increase of ~$20/night gave us $100 to spend in the restaurant, free admission for two to the CAC and $30 to spend in the hotel gift shop. I think it was called the Good Neighbor package. Go for it!

One minor glitch: in the restaurant, our merlot was served chilled. Also, at check-in, the front desk clerk said our room had a great view out the front of the hotel. In fact, it looked into the rear. This would be one major area for potential improvement. When compared to everhthing else one encounters at 21C, the rear open-topped atrium screams drabness. Such inventive minds can surely improve upon this view, which roughly half the rooms gaze upon. Also, fan noise from this atrium is constant and noticeable in the room. For us, it gradually became white noise at night. It may bother others. Again, put some inventive engineers to work here, 21C!

A weekend to remember!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Really great stay. Excellent meal in the bar, nice environment. Super clean everywhere. When leaving the hotel, the GM helped me with my bag, what a guy. How often does that happen. Very cool decor. Nice touch with the rubber sucky in the shower. Not sure how many channels on the tv... Didn't seem to end. I really hope to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Reginald Dougla... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Not quite what it would like to be!! Can't compete with the rooftop bar at the Residence Inn Downtown. Service ok I suppose but don't expect to get drinks served in a can andat that price they should be - not the way it's done in the UK!
Sort it out or it will fail!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DENISE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here following a wedding, and while I don't recall much about the evening before our arrival, the 21c definitely stands out in my memory! Everything about it was wonderful - location, decor, rooms, restaurant, rooftop bar, etc etc. Loved it ALL! Had a hip and unique feel while still being quiet and comfortable. Wish we didn't have to stay with family when we come in town, because I want to come here all the time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sbrinkmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Traveled to Cincinnati for business and stayed at the 21C due to it's downtown location and proximity to the office. Great room and experience. The current art exhibit is a great plus. The roof top bar with its hot cider drinks offered a nice view of town as well as a good service experience. HIghly recommended for the business traveler.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pens_fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I decided to celebrate our wedding evening/night in downtown Cincinnati and 21c was our first choice. From the second we arrived until the moment we left, the entire staff (Metropole restaurant staff included) treated us like royalty.

They first upgraded us at no charge to a larger room while assuring us that our every need would be met. The room itself was clean, modern, spacious and we both agreed that the bed was the most comfortable either one of us had ever slept on at a hotel. The food and craft beer at Metropole was amazing and delicious as well.

The 21c staff impressed us so much that we've already decided to stay with them again each year on our anniversary. Thanks to the staff again. You won't regret staying here if you get the chance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#12 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Address: 609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Lois and Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art and across the street from the Aronoff Center for the Arts, 21c Cincinnati works to foster the ongoing revival of Downtown Cincinnati and strengthen its role as a cultural destination. Working with the Cincinnati Center City Development Corporation (3CDC), 21c renovated the former Metropole Hotel and embraced the architecture of the historic landmark to create an exciting new space for guests to experience genuine hospitality, view cutting edge contemporary art, and enjoy culinary experiences that celebrates the region's sustainable producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing