We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wow, 21c is excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wow, 21c is excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Such a treat to get to stay here on a recent business trip. Refreshingly young, hip and artsy --- which I am not, but I love and appreciate being around.

Walking into reception is a little like walking up to the Apple Genius Bar, only with art and top-notch service. The room (King Deluxe) was immaculately clean, well-appointed and had an awesomely comfortable bed.... I slept well two nights in a row. I'm not a fan of Nespresso for in-room coffee, but quick room service with outstanding, fresh food (and coffee!) made up for that.

Unlike most trips I also had the opportunity to visit the spa and the hotel restaurant, both of which could stand on their own vs. the best spas and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBrenner214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    110
    16
    13
    9
See reviews for
99
281
17
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelbyville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have stayed twice the first time in a room with a queen bed an a sofa bed. Everything was great. Lots of room and the bed was great. We could sleep and get up feeling like we had. The bathroom had a tub and shower. My husband like the number of tv options. everyone was very nice.
The second time was in a king bed. Room was small but nice. Bathroom just had a shower but it was a nice walk in one. The bed was great again. No back aches or getting up because of not getting the right place to sleep. The coffee maker was nice. We made coffee before we left for the evening and when we came back they had turn down and covers on the bed and left more coffee.
The view was not great but the location was nice. The art was something different. We like it and will stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Visiting for the Xavier commencement from out of town, my wife and I wanted to stay downtown to enjoy the restaurants and events around the hotel. It seemed that in order to stay in the area, one had to evaluate what was included in your stay and how much of a charge you were willing to accept for features. Common fees were assessed for parking, wifi, and room upgrades. It turns out that for what you pay, 21C offered the larger HDTV with premium channels, bath amenities unlike any other hotel in the area, complimentary in-room coffee and water and free speedy wireless internet. Best of all, the art is amazing. It is a rather interesting touch to incorporate what would normally be boring walls and elevator with refreshing artistic pieces.
The design of the room was welcoming, not overly lit, and maintained a comfortable temperature. Our room had a comfortable sized queen bed with down comforter and high quality linens. as well as a bathroom which is large, clean and a shower head that leaves one relaxed and refreshed. The floor is even textured and is not outside of a comfortable range for enhanced barefoot walking. Last, the room can be made quite dark due built-in shutters and extra thick curtains.
Finally, we did not get a chance to try the spa or try the restaurant, but we did use the gym which had state of the art ellipticals and cycles. A broad range of free weights and it also had nice touches like water, fresh towels, and cleaning wipes.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JpGutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stylish Mid-Century Modern design boutique hotel in the heart of everything! Loved the design and loved the service. Service was very "Disneyesque": everyone we encountered seemed genuinely happy to see us and to assist us. Pricey, but definitely worth it. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bballann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Trying something new is a good thing, so, we booked 21C on Hotwire (thinking it was one of either the Cincinnatian or the Netherland Plaza- both of which belong to the Historic Hotels of America.) Our surprise came when we discovered we booked this modern art museum hotel. It is, well, different. The minimalist look is not our cup of tea. Concrete floors and austere walls don't do much for us. The people were very friendly and the little touches told us we were in a very nice place, but... The portrait of a smirking camel over our bed made us laugh and creep out at the same time. The white subway tiles in the bathroom were puncuated with white ceramic body parts including a nose, an ear, a belly button, and a woman's breast. I guess I just don't get modern art. The art museum in the bottom 2 floors did have some interesting items, though. Be sure to check out the light show coming out of the ceiling. It was fun to play in. But we can do without the graphically nude life-sized statues of men, women and children. I tried reading the artist's explanation but couldn't make sense out of it. Yes, we are sixty year old fogeys who like grand staircases, chandeliers and classic architecture. Is 21C avant-garde? Yes. Is 21C for us? No.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bimmer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I loved staying in the 21C. It is in a great central location making it easy to get around the city. I was staying there with my two kids and the double queen room was more than enough space. The only draw back is that the walls seem a bit thin. I could clearly hear my neighbors talking and the street noise made it hard to fall asleep. Besides that, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arh6152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Visited 21C for a romantic kid-free weekend. First, the reservation staff were very flexible and proactive with my reservation request. Upon arrival, the valet staff were very friendly in helping us get out of the car and out of the rain. Didn't seem like they were fishing for tips like so many bellmen/valets are.

Front desk staff were very attentive and made the check-in very easy. Gave us a free upgrade too! Awesome! Throughout our stay they were very observant and helpful, basically the best service I have ever received at a hotel.

We also visited the spa, which was equally enjoyable. Probably the best massage I've ever had. Very relaxing, friendly, warm environment.

Of course the artwork was very interesting and it was a lot of fun to just wander around the hotel, checking out different floors' exhibits. Such a unique property and idea for a hotel.

We will definitely be back to 21C. I would not say it's a good place for kids really, but it is fantastic for a romantic getaway or a business trip even. It is a little on the pricey side, but Ithe top-knotch service and attention actually made it a value for me.

Room Tip: Rooms along Walnut next to Nicholson's had a good amount of bar and street noise later at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lukabrasi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#12 of 51 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Address: 609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Lois and Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art and across the street from the Aronoff Center for the Arts, 21c Cincinnati works to foster the ongoing revival of Downtown Cincinnati and strengthen its role as a cultural destination. Working with the Cincinnati Center City Development Corporation (3CDC), 21c renovated the former Metropole Hotel and embraced the architecture of the historic landmark to create an exciting new space for guests to experience genuine hospitality, view cutting edge contemporary art, and enjoy culinary experiences that celebrates the region's sustainable producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing