We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“finally a decent hotel in Cinci...on top with a touch of art” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“finally a decent hotel in Cinci...on top with a touch of art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

finally a hotel which is modern, clean and designed with some taste. loved the spacey room and the nice touch of art both at the reception and in the room...tough I expected more. they have a nice fitness and a restaurant next door. really worth trying!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PleasuresHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    120
    19
    14
    9
See reviews for
112
296
19
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a business outing, it was brand new, I think we were the first to stay in our room. The decor was amazing, everything was comfortable, the guest services were quick and helpful. We loved it so much, we took our children back to stay during a Christmas event going on downtown Cincinnati. A wonderful place, close to everything, clean, beautiful, and friendly. I would highly recommend for anyone needing to stay downtown. Upgrade to a deluxe suite if you can!

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to deluxe suite, worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST BLOOMFIELD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Lovely, newly renovated hotel with contemporary art motif. Cool, unexpected touches EVERYWHERE, form the check-in desk, to the rooms. Lobby has great exhibits, so do the hallways. Permanent photo exhibits are just lovely and lend a great "feel" to the property. A witty addition are the numerous 4 foot yellow penguin mascots that are everywhere! You may find one standing at your table at the Metropole restaurant ( fantastic for dinner or brunch), or you might find one outside your door in the morning. Or on the elevator. Rooms are luxurious, clean, minimalist, with humorous touches in the bathroom. I won't spoil it for you, so you'll have to see for yourself. Great location, easy walk to the riverfront. Lots of pubs, restaurants,shopping within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leonard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We read the other reviews for this location prior to going, and I must say, that they are right. The location is excellent and the art/sculpturing is fantastic. Let's talk about the good stuff first:
It is somewhat family friendly.. Depending on your stance on art... There are naked sculptures of various 'younger' individuals which might be hard to explain to a 4 - 8 year old located in the lobby. Nothing grotesque, just the human form. I had no problem with it for my son.

-The employees are *EXTREMELY* friendly. It is a different kind of check in. No offical "front desk" as most hotels employ, this is just an art exhibit table with 6400 hands holding it up. (When you check in, you will know what I mean ;))
-We had the same man help with our luggage from the car, waited through the check in process, and followed us to the room. That was excellent!
-It's kind of silly, but we LOVED the penguins. They are giant (4') yellow and they seemingly travel throughout the hotel and end up in different locations constantly. (We helped too! We moved one off the elevator and left it on the 5th floor.) It was fun!
-The Room:
- Kind of small, that was workable, just a note
- VERY clean and smelled AWESOME
- Bathroom had its own "art" in the wall, a bellybutton, lips, a breast, an ear, and a nose were pushed out of various tiles. Neat!
- Robes that were furnished were VERY nice as well.
- The bed??? OMG! HONESTLY THE BEST NIGHTS SLEEP I HAVE HAD IN YEARS! TALK about comfort?! Ahhhhhhhhhh is all I can say.

- Onto the very, very few negatives in my personal opinion.

It is nice to have someone available for your needs, but I am a frugal individual who would rather go get my own ice, and not have to tip someone. Pretty much everything you need or want involves a tip of some sort. I am OK with that to a point, but, it was a little much.

I read in another review that the electric grass was good. I was expecting a little more. To me, the various artworks on various floors trumped that. I would take a pass on that if it came around again.

So, that's it! It really is a very good location, but if traveling "frugally", this might be a bit extravagant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

i wanted to stay here cause it was a good location for us to take a break after a long drive. we had stayed at a 21c in louisville and i loved it. this place is just as great. the check in was nice and the lobby desk is the coolest ever. i like these hotels cause of all the art they have to look at. the room was very well done and we did get an upgrade as well. very roomy and the bed was so nice. if ever in cincy again i would stay here in a heartbeat. thanks for the good time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeti1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, NY
Level Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I love this beautiful brand new hotel in an art gallery setting next to a nice gastropub and around the corner to other brewpubs, coffee shops and fine dining. The workout room is decent and in-house restaurant is very good. I saved a little money parking my own car in public parking garage at Fountain Square and explored the surroundings on the way to hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Loved our weekend stay at 21c Hotel. The combination art gallery hotel works. They also have a wonderful restaurant called the Metropole where we dined one evening and had brunch. Overall, everything you need for a comfortable stay. Rooms were meticulously clean and spacious. Super-comfortable bed and luxurious linens. Our only complaint was the soundproofing. We heard ambient sound from a nearby disco. We called the front desk and they moved us to quieter quarters. Problem solved. We were impressed with how seamlessly this was carried out. Before our visit we also received a letter asking us if we had any particular needs. They also called upon minutes of our getting into our room to see if there was anything we needed. Fantastic service and art! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the quiet section of the floor along the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Central Business District
The Westin Cincinnati
The Westin Cincinnati
#14 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Central Business District
Cincinnatian Hotel
Cincinnatian Hotel
#15 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Residence Inn Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Central Business District
Renaissance Cincinnati Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
Hyatt Regency Cincinnati
#11 of 47 in Cincinnati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati

Property: 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
Address: 609 Walnut St, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cincinnati
#1 Business Hotel in Cincinnati
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cincinnati
#5 Family Hotel in Cincinnati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the Lois and Richard Rosenthal Center for Contemporary Art and across the street from the Aronoff Center for the Arts, 21c Cincinnati works to foster the ongoing revival of Downtown Cincinnati and strengthen its role as a cultural destination. Working with the Cincinnati Center City Development Corporation (3CDC), 21c renovated the former Metropole Hotel and embraced the architecture of the historic landmark to create an exciting new space for guests to experience genuine hospitality, view cutting edge contemporary art, and enjoy culinary experiences that celebrates the region's sustainable producers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your 21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing