We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of The Rookwood - CLOSED

The Rookwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Mount Adams
Cross street: Monastary St.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
185 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stopped at this restaurant for a weekend lunch from the advice of a volunteer guide at the Union Terminal Museum. Very cool atmosphere. Part of it is original kiln building from the famous Rookwood Pottery Company. The three remaining kilns are fitted with seating and tables. It would be worth planning ahead and making reservations for one of those 3 spaces for a unique dining experience for a group of friends or family. We sat outside on deck on a gorgeous day. Food was okay so mostly go for atmophere. Service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    65
    32
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“It's more about it's history”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The restaurant has been there as long as I can remember but has changed ownership over the years several times. The food was nothing special my last visit but always an interesting place to take out of town guest and share a bit of local history....Rookwood Pottery....google it before you go

Helpful?
Thank Herme57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice view and good food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We choose to take a couple to lunch after visiting the Cincinnati Art Museum - right down the road from the restaurant. Even on a holiday Saturday we were seated and served right away. My husband and I had a cup of soup and the goat cheese and apple salad. The salad wasn't that flavorful and could have used more goat cheese (we should have asked for extra dressing too). The soup was great - his was chili and mine was lentil and mushroom. Our friend had the Hanky Panky appetizers (with goetta) and he really liked it. The main attraction is the view and the cool kilns - that you can actually eat in if you prefer. We asked the waitress if she had seen any spirits (since this place is supposedly haunted). She said "no" but had heard of a lot of activity.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynnDeeOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fascinating pottery kiln factory with eclectic menu”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

The service was attentive, and the opportunity to dine inside a kiln was fascinating. The fig burger and cheese board plate were delicious... Many of the menu items seemed to be tapas style. (Note: seniors are often the people who are most interested in the pottery factory setting and the menu is not auited to their tastes).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, and eat ourside for a Great View!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went with my mother and my partner recently on our trip to Cincinnati for a few days and had a great time at the restaurant, curious as to why this place only has 3 1/2 on TripAdvisor. We ordered the bread basket with seasonal butter to start - wonderful. My lite eater mother ordered the Dressed Hanky Panky - with Goetta ( a Cincinnati sausage) and beef, she loved them, even with the slight spice. We shared the Sliced Apple and Goat cheese salad to share ( the larger $10 one) HUGE and delicious. Then had the Barnsdale Burger and the Pork Belly, one with the fresh cut fries and the other with the Grippo (bbq flavored) fries and it was all huge and delicious. Cooked to perfection, they were both wonderful to share and we couldn't believe the complex flavors. This place rocks!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rookwood also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing