We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fun Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nicola's Ristorante

Nicola's Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Nicola's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,878 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Liberty Street
Description: Nicola's is located on the corner of East Liberty and Sycamore Street
Warrenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fun Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had dinner at this restaurant for a family birthday party. The appetizers are great and creative and the entrees equally delicious. The assortment of breads with the salad course was fantastic. The service was efficient and attentive.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    46
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
337 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“NICOLA'S FAILS TO IMPRESS AFTER SEVERAL CHANCES”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Restaurants deserve several chances. Everyone has a bad night.. Unfortunately, Nicola's was not able to prove itself as a worthwhile dining choice in spite of its venerable reputation. Critics love Nicola's, and certainly the restaurant has all the trappings of a marvelous experience; the decor is attractive with its warm Italian rusticity, the location in Cincinnati's hip & gentrifying Over The Rhine neighborhood is very cool, and the service is quite warm & knowledgable. However, ultimately dining is about the food and Nicola's kitchen fails miserably. The pastas, while certainly al dente, are drowning in sauces so cloyingly sweet, I was literally forced to wash my mouth out after each taste. There was nothing memorable from the appetizers to the desserts which were all bland with absolutely no inventiveness. Even the wine list was over priced and incredibly pedestrian. Cincinnati has some marvelous restaurants that can compete with dining establishments throughout the U.S. Why Nicola's is at the top of critic's dining selections is beyond my comprehension. To each his own.......

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
304 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“At the top of the Cincinnati list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Been here many times. Best breadbasket of any restaurant in Cincy hands down and competitive with anywhere. Food is terrific although very rich. They do a great job with seafood including fantastic lobster ravioli.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jabrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We ate here with some friends for Valentines weekend. We normally love this place - the presentation of the food and quality and service are always excellent but for some reason it fell a little short of what I remembered from prior visits regarding value. I expected the bill to be about $30 less than it was.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuperDorbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best choice for a Valentine's make-up dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Since we missed Valentine's Day, my husband selected this restaurant for our make-up dinner. We got there before 6 on a Fri night so didn't need reservations (usually required) and were able to find free parking spot on street (valet available). Nice atmosphere, music & wonderful waiter. Handmade breads, and even my pasta dish was handmade and delicious. My husband had the rabbit risotto and raved about this unique dish. For a gourmet restaurant, the portions weren't too small but just right. Wonderful experience -- we hope to return soon.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moonstream11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicola's Ristorante also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Nicola's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing