We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Better than expected ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graeter's Ice Cream

Graeter's Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 48 Dessert in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Clifton
Description: Handcrafted for Five Generations Since 1870. Louis and Regina Graeter started handcrafting Graeter's Ice Cream in 1870. Today, generations later, we proudly remain a family owned and operated company. This is made possible thanks to you, our legion of loyal fans. For a century and a half, Graeter's has remained steadfast in our commitment to making ice cream not the easy way, but rather, the only way it should be: by hand, with real cream, sugar and eggs, in 2 gallon French Pots one batch at a time.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Better than expected ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Before we even moved to CIN, we were house hunting and upon our very first visit, we had already sign up for the loyalty card. All of us fell in love with our choices (lemon sorbet, vanilla ice-cream, chocolate ice-cream and coffee ice cream).

We have a tradition of having ice cream cakes for each of our birthdays so when we moved to OH, we were looking for ice cream cakes. All I can say is that we will never go back to Baskin Robbins and we had converted a lot of our new friends to Graeter's Ice Cream cake for their kids' birthday. You cant find better !!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank _de_last_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    133
    41
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
National Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
300 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stopped by this ice cream store a few times when we were in Cincinnati. Some of the best ice cream I ever had anywhere. They have multiple chocolate chip flavors. The chocolate chips were the largest I have ever seen in ice cream cones. Also very creamy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“CHUNKS made it the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

They need to describe their flavors not as "chip" but rather "chunk." I tried the peanut butter chip with added peanut butter sauce. I thought I had died & gone to heaven! Lots of unique specialty sundaes too.

I would return just for more ice cream. Join their loyalty club & earn points to redeem for goodies.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop Harbor, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Is there any better ice cream? I don't think so....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Always save room for dessert at Graeters! Awesome ice cream and unique flavors. So creamy! Good place to stop for a late night scoop or sundae. Always clean, always friendly and always quick. Outside tables to enjoy your ice cream in the summer breeze.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tallyho078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This Ice Cream should be #1 in the best Ice Cream Parlors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I just received an e-mail from Trip Advisor showing the 10 top Ice Cream Parlors in the US. There is absolutely no way that their tasters tried Graeters from Cincinnati, Ohio. I have tasted ice creams from all over and Graeters is by far the best! Oprah voted the vanilla the best she ever had eaten. They have expanded their sales to Columbus, Ohio and to Krogers and other grocers around the country. My favorite is Chocolate chip. It has huge chips of dark chocolate that melt in your mouth. They have also started making a "less indulgent" ice cream with fewer calories. They also make a great Gelato especially the dark chocolate truffle. AMAZINGLY GOOD! You have to try it to see and I am sure you will agree! Pass the word through Tripadvisor!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BonnieWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graeter's Ice Cream also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Graeter's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing