We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“CHUNKS made it the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graeter's Ice Cream

Graeter's Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 49 Dessert in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Clifton
Description: Handcrafted for Five Generations Since 1870. Louis and Regina Graeter started handcrafting Graeter's Ice Cream in 1870. Today, generations later, we proudly remain a family owned and operated company. This is made possible thanks to you, our legion of loyal fans. For a century and a half, Graeter's has remained steadfast in our commitment to making ice cream not the easy way, but rather, the only way it should be: by hand, with real cream, sugar and eggs, in 2 gallon French Pots one batch at a time.
Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“CHUNKS made it the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

They need to describe their flavors not as "chip" but rather "chunk." I tried the peanut butter chip with added peanut butter sauce. I thought I had died & gone to heaven! Lots of unique specialty sundaes too.

I would return just for more ice cream. Join their loyalty club & earn points to redeem for goodies.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    139
    46
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winthrop Harbor, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Is there any better ice cream? I don't think so....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Always save room for dessert at Graeters! Awesome ice cream and unique flavors. So creamy! Good place to stop for a late night scoop or sundae. Always clean, always friendly and always quick. Outside tables to enjoy your ice cream in the summer breeze.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tallyho078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This Ice Cream should be #1 in the best Ice Cream Parlors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I just received an e-mail from Trip Advisor showing the 10 top Ice Cream Parlors in the US. There is absolutely no way that their tasters tried Graeters from Cincinnati, Ohio. I have tasted ice creams from all over and Graeters is by far the best! Oprah voted the vanilla the best she ever had eaten. They have expanded their sales to Columbus, Ohio and to Krogers and other grocers around the country. My favorite is Chocolate chip. It has huge chips of dark chocolate that melt in your mouth. They have also started making a "less indulgent" ice cream with fewer calories. They also make a great Gelato especially the dark chocolate truffle. AMAZINGLY GOOD! You have to try it to see and I am sure you will agree! Pass the word through Tripadvisor!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BonnieWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Ice Cream!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

My daughter lives in Cincinnati and said this was the best place to get ice cream and she was right. The ice cream was rich and creamy. I had butter pecan and next time I will get a double scoop.

Helpful?
Thank PGibson61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The reviews below aren't kidding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Upon reading the reviews below, we figured we had to check out this place. My wife and I shared a banana split with black raspberry chip and coconut ice creams topped with homemade sauces of marshmallow and caramel sauces and homemade whipped cream with nuts.

And while I could find nothing wrong with any of the sauces, it was clear to both my wife and to me that ANYTHING you would put on the black raspberry ice cream could only make it less delicious not more. Seriously, this was the best ice cream either of us have ever had.

We had to come back again before we left town and EACH got just a serving of black raspberry chip ice cream, having learned our lesson, and it was even better than the first time.

Go. Now. And get nothing else.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graeter's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Graeter's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing