We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graeter's Ice Cream

Graeter's Ice Cream
332 Ludlow Ave, Cincinnati, OH 45220-2019 (Clifton)
15132814749
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 45 Dessert in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Clifton
Description: Handcrafted for Five Generations Since 1870. Louis and Regina Graeter started handcrafting Graeter's Ice Cream in 1870. Today, generations later, we proudly remain a family owned and operated company. This is made possible thanks to you, our legion of loyal fans. For a century and a half, Graeter's has remained steadfast in our commitment to making ice cream not the easy way, but rather, the only way it should be: by hand, with real cream, sugar and eggs, in 2 gallon French Pots one batch at a time.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is by far the best ice cream I have ever tasted!! I had the brownie sundae, and it did not disappoint. I will definitely be back for a future visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brandy0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    741
    126
    40
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I am a Cincinnati native and If you travel to Cincinnati and don't eat at Grater's you are missing the whole Cincinnati experience! They have the creamiest, most delicious ice cream ever. It is quiet expensive, but it worth every spoonful. The best flavors are strawberry and of course, black raspberry chip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeatlesFan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream known to Man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We finally have a Graeter's in Lexington and it did not disappoint. My wife luvs the chocolate chocolate chip and I cannot resist the mocha chocolate chip. A cone with 2 scoops runs about $5, but you get some of the best Ice Cream around.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BartBLexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“As good as ice cream gets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wife and I stooped by here on a rec during our day trip in Cincy. Al I can say is MAKE TIME TO GO HERE!

Wife had Toffee Chip and I had the black raspberry chip. Both were chock full of delicious huge chips and awesome sweet, but not overly sweet ice cream.

An absolute must while in Cincy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BCMike22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not really a restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I see Tripadvisor now rates this as Cincinnati's top restaurant. This is ridiculous! It's an ice cream parlor! Sells ice cream which, although good, can now be bought in most local supermarkets. To award 5 stars after eating something you can buy in Krogers is absurd. These are largely product not restaurant reviews. Fortunately the famously crabby severs of yesteryear are mostly gone. Its a nice call on a summer evening and a Cincinnati tradition. A great restaurant it is not.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taronti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graeter's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Graeter's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing