We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“As good as ice cream gets!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graeter's Ice Cream

Graeter's Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 45 Dessert in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Clifton
Description: Handcrafted for Five Generations Since 1870. Louis and Regina Graeter started handcrafting Graeter's Ice Cream in 1870. Today, generations later, we proudly remain a family owned and operated company. This is made possible thanks to you, our legion of loyal fans. For a century and a half, Graeter's has remained steadfast in our commitment to making ice cream not the easy way, but rather, the only way it should be: by hand, with real cream, sugar and eggs, in 2 gallon French Pots one batch at a time.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“As good as ice cream gets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wife and I stooped by here on a rec during our day trip in Cincy. Al I can say is MAKE TIME TO GO HERE!

Wife had Toffee Chip and I had the black raspberry chip. Both were chock full of delicious huge chips and awesome sweet, but not overly sweet ice cream.

An absolute must while in Cincy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BCMike22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    128
    40
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not really a restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I see Tripadvisor now rates this as Cincinnati's top restaurant. This is ridiculous! It's an ice cream parlor! Sells ice cream which, although good, can now be bought in most local supermarkets. To award 5 stars after eating something you can buy in Krogers is absurd. These are largely product not restaurant reviews. Fortunately the famously crabby severs of yesteryear are mostly gone. Its a nice call on a summer evening and a Cincinnati tradition. A great restaurant it is not.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taronti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The parlor is smaller than expected, but the ice cream was great! Sorry we didn't get another chance to visit again during this trip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chgo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sode fountain and ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Graeters is very good -- might not be the very best in the world but it is within the top 5. The services is great and the selection are wonderful. Black Cherry and Coconut are the best in the world!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Ice Cream in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The ice cream is fabulous, but tonight the manager even came around offering all the patrons a chance to choose a piece of candy from an arranged box of chocolates!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graeter's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Graeter's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing