We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, delivers on the core need” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of First Watch

First Watch
Ranked #79 of 1,952 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: First Watch specializes in delicious creations freshly-prepared to order. Their fresh, award-winning Breakfast, Brunch and Lunch dishes are made using only the best ingredients without the use of heat lamps or deep fryers. The best part is their creative menu features traditional favorites like omelets, pancakes, salads and sandwiches.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ok, delivers on the core need”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Good, solid joint. Nothing earth-shattering, but good. The people were very nice and tried to be attentive, and the food was okay. I arrived as soon as it opened so my food came really fast. The temperature was good, but the flavor was limited. Very bland.

The hype was a lot higher than the actual experience warrants. When I visited, there was also a strange odor. I couldn't pinpoint the smell, but there was a unique smell -- and it was not me.

Next time i am in Cincy, I'll visit someplace new before circling back to this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IamPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    38
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We found First Watch online and it looked like a good breakfast place. It lived up to its billing. The food and service was excellent. Our waitress was very helpful and offered substitutions readily. She was attentive without too much attention. The food was great and just what we needed. We beat the crowd and did not have to wait for a table. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Helpful?
Thank ricemn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First Watch always a favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We often take our kids downtown on the weekend - First Watch is a good place to eat. It's often really busy so be prepared to wait. The food sometimes take awhile too.

Helpful?
Thank mrschultze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Staff needs to be replaced!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I've always enjoyed eating at First Watch and have been to several different locations. I was sorely disappointed last weekend (7/22) when we ate at this one in Cincinnati. Our waitress was terrible! First of all her shorts were filthy, like she had been sitting in the street filthy. She had spilt something on her shirt so one whole side of her shirt was wet. Her hair was hanging in her face. She was in a hurry to take our orders. As soon as she took my order I asked for more French Vanilla coffee creamer as the bowl on our table only had regular and hazelnut. When another person brought our food I asked for an extra napkin because I had ordered the Grilled Turkey sandwich and it is very messy. By this time I still had not received the coffee creamer. The girl never brought the napkin and I wouldn't start eating my sandwich until I had another napkin. I had to have a napkin for my lap and one for my hands, like I said the sandwich was messy. So I got up from the table and walked back to the kitchen entry way and a bus boy asked me what I needed and I asked for a napkin and he gave me a few. Our waitress never came back to fill up my coffee or ask how we were doing. My sandwich was a mess. Almost no meat on the first half and the other half had so much dressing on it that the bread fell apart. If the sandwich had been made neatly I would have rated hire because I do love their food. This waitress (Jessica) should be fired because she has no customer service skills at all, the second girl who brought our food didn't bring a napkin (how hard is that), and the cook really disappointed me because normally their sandwiches are made with precision and they are consistently good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darlene2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a great place to go for breakfast and one of the only places open on a Sunday morning if you want more than coffee and a bagel. They had a lot of healthy options, but don't let that fool you. They also have delicious unhealthy options as well. :)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Watch also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to First Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing