We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boss birthday dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,878 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 7th
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Boss birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

What a great meal!! My steak, a porter house was off the charts. Service was wonderful. It's like stepping back in time. The bathroom was like a speakeasy. They have an outdoor patio too. Dessert was bananas foster and cooked near your table. The server had extensive knowledge of the entire menu and wine list.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank audChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    62
    25
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old classic ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Went here just for drinks and the atmosphere was classic. You get the feeling you are stepping back in time a bit, but in an elegant, sophisticated kind of way. A piano playing in the background gives a nice backdrop to the ambiance. If the food is even half as good as the atmosphere, I will be coming back for way more than just for evening drinks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pmayfiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Steaks, steaks, steaks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great steaks in a beautiful setting.

Filetes so tender you can cut them with your fork.

Salads fresh and crispy.

Great experience and service too!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Visiting Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse with a customer and his wife this week-end, was our first time dining in downtown Cincinnati since moving to the area and it was incredible! The atmosphere was chic, the service was excellent, and the food was amazing. My wife and I both had the Barrel-Cut Filet Mignon and it was one of the best steaks we had ever eaten. Both our salads were excellent and the mac and cheese side was very good as well. For dessert, we both had ice cream, and it ranked up there with the best ice cream we had ever eaten. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant! We will definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bhighlande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great steak, wine, and dessert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

i was in cincinnati visiting an old friend. he took me out to dinner at jeff ruby's 'precinct'. it was a great ambiance in the restaurant. i ordered a terrific pinot noir from oregon, king's ridge. very smooth and light. the freddie salad was 'the bomb'! the bacon hits your mouth like nothing you've ever tasted before! "blt with a buttermilk ranch dressing" is what the waiter called it. i opted for a touradoe--filet mignon medallions with garlic shrimp. dee-lish! and for dessert, we went with a strawberry flambé that they cooked up right next to our table. the menu is pricey, but the food is wonderful! after dinner, we headed upstairs to their bar area for after dinner drinks and caught this band playing some great r&b dance music. we had so much fun that night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sharbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing