We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse
700 Walnut Street, Cincinnati, OH 45202-2015 (Central Business District)
513-784-1200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,878 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 7th
New Berlin, Wi
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

One of the best steak houses I have good to. Their wide range of items and specials were excellent. At our sitting our order ranged from their fish special to steak(NY and Fillet) the tiger shrimp were tasty and very large. The crab legs was also good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    62
    25
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granville, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious - Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a great time at Jeff Ruby's this past weekend. Yes, the food is expensive but was perfectly prepared and seasoned. We wanted to sit at the main bar but it was packed when we got there so we sat at the service bar and it was fantastic. We loved Rob (our bartender), who was great to talk to and made excellent recommendations on food and drinks. Everyone we interacted with was friendly and just seemed happy in general to be there. It also gets lively there on Saturday nights with live music. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a good steak and great service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BradyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good steak - second time round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This steakhouse was sold up to me as the best he'd ever been to by my travelling companion. The reality was close, and it was a good steakhouse, but ot the best I've ever had.

I ordered my steak rare, and it came out blue and cold in the middle. I know this can be a risk with a rare order but this is the first time I have experienced such a cold rare steak. It was taken back and cooked further without a fuss and with an apology and when it came back it was fine and was very tasty.

I would recommend this restaurant - great atmosphere, but would advise ordering your steak cooked one notch up from what you usually order.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
354 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went here for a business dinner with a group of six. Very cool atmosphere, nice art deco murals on the walls. I am not a steak fan so I had the halibut and it was a bit rich, but well prepared and presented. Service was very attentive and excellent. Live music during dinner which was very nice. Not cheap so best for special occasions or expense accounts . Others all liked their steak very much.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SLKspingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Celebrated our anniversary here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary and were first time visitors. They did not disappoint! The decor of the restaurant is Art Deco and very appealing. The staff is top notch and are helpful in every way. We had a nice circular-booth table which made us feel special on our special day but that was just the beginning. The waiter came out and greeted us with a camera, took our picture and return five minutes later with the photo in a nice picture holder! We proceeded to have an outstanding meal (side portions are large so you will want to share) and were comfortably stuffed and satisfied. Before bringing the check the waiter brought us a complimentary desert so we could top off our special day with a sweet treat!

if you're in Cincinnati and you want a fine dining experience, you don't want to miss Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse in the heart of the city!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wyoben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing