We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent high end steakhouse” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse

Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,914 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 7th
cincinnati
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent high end steakhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Top shelf service and food quality. A bet pricey but worth it just get out your wallet for the best stake in Cincy and probably the Midwest. This Ruby's is downtown and the atmosphere is city hustle and noise. Also seems to be very popular with guys or at least large groups of them.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tvinci1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    64
    29
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
176 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very good. Typical Cheesy Ruby Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've eaten at most of Jeff Ruby's restaurants. He excels at making the experience feel exceptional - very attentive staff, extremely overpriced wine list, delicious food. It's very good, it's very expensive. It's a nice night out for a special occasion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank franmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Jeff Ruby's Rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

From the moment you enter, you just get a feeling that it's going to be a delightful experience. Jeff Ruby's is a lovely place. The combination of French Art Deco design, fabulous artwork and classic lighting provide an wonderful ambience, combining fine dining with the backdrop of casual chatter and laughter of clientele. People have fun here while enjoying the finest of steaks. I was privy to the bone-in filet which was perfectly char-broiled, juicy, tender and perhaps the most tasteful steak I've had. Between dinner and a drink or two, expect to drop a bit of cash - but well worth it! Can't say enough good about this place!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EuroTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent steak, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was my second time at Ruby's. I'm pretty sure I'm gonna be back next time I'm in Cinci for business.

Excellent service, always available but discrete. Our waiter definitely knew a thing or two about wine.

My fillet was cooked just right, but $100/person seemed a bit high. Hence only 4/5 rating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jarekad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great environment, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The place looks and feels great: lovely and lively atmosphere, great live music, nice people... yet the steak was OK, i.e. not bad, not memorable, just average.
Paid 100 dollars for a fillet, fries, two cups of wine and some fruit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 5-5-2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing