We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cricket Lounge for Lovely Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palace Restaurant

Palace Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Palace Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #117 of 1,914 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American, French, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 6th and Vine Street
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cricket Lounge for Lovely Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

First off, you should know that we were there on one of their busiest nights of the year and we knew it. We arrived about 4:45pm to beat some of the dinner rush and had our pick of tables. Started with a happy hour glass of Ghost Pine 2009 red blend (so so). Next, enjoyed the Hummus platter, emphasis on ENJOYED. This was a perfect size start for two but could also serve nicely as an individual lunch. It consisted of hummus, black olives, cucumber, pickled red onion (yum), roasted red pepper, and lovely warm pita triangles. Hubby had the Braised short Ribs with Brussel Sprouts, Cheese Grits (fantastic), Pickled Onion Relish, and Natural Jus. I had the Roasted Salmon, Fingerling Potatoes, Butternut Squash, Almonds, Brown Butter-Cider Vinaigarette. We like to share bites and these were very complementary. Everything was prepared perfectly. We enjoyed dinner with a Trefethen 2007 Napa Cabernet (wonderful at about double the bottle price of the Ghost Pine). We had no room left for dessert and were completely satisfied with our dining experience. Though extremely busy and service was a tad slow, our waitress Christina was as professional as they come and checked on us often. Great job by all and thanks for a wonderful experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    31
    13
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Left Hungry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful Restaurant, Wonderful Atmosphere, Fantastic Service. Where is the FOOD?
Sadly, menu changed since last visit 2 years ago. Recently ordered "? " French name... Description said "sweet potato". It was 8 pm. I just wanted something healthy, light ... I thought I was ordering a sweet potato "fancied up". Description did not say "sweet potato medallion". I was not interested in a main course (meat/duck/fish). There was NO normal "salad" dish offered. So, for $18, I received TWO quarter-sized medallion slices of a seasoned sweet potato (delicious!) A double-thumb sized, deep fried biscuit (delicious), one teas of jalapeno jelly (incredible) and a small brown blog of something I could not identify (possibly a mushroom type thing). Five small BITES ... and my "meal" was over. My table mates were shocked at "nothing" on my plate when the serving lid was lifted... Then their awkward laugh turned into sincere offerings of food off their plates. (I refused...their "MAINS" were skimpy too.) Really shocked. Much better experience with food ... LAST TIME.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“High end menu and very fine wine list.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The menu is heavy on meat and game, if you are vegan you'll have little to select from but the waiter was happy to ask the chef to accommodate. We are pescetarians, we eat fish, so we had two choices we were happy with. The service was spot-on and the ambiance very plush. Ask for a window table to avoid the more close quarters of the main area. I disliked nothing about this restaurant. I was surprised there was such fine dining in this city!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chef Jose Salazar makes The Palace a royal treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Attractive presentations, tasty luncheon choices, gracious white linen ambience, unobtrusive but attentive wait staff, surrounded by French Impressionist art in a quiet atmosphere made for a fine retreat! Our lump crab cakes came with a delicious remoulade sauce dressed with arugula and the gazpacho soup was refreshing! Good wine selection and absolutely try for dessert the creme brulee with citrus Madeline and the cheesecake with blackberry sorbet. Happy to see this refined dining experience for Cincinnatians!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diningout4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I love a good breakfast menu with excellent service and linen tablecloths and napkins! The Palace met all those requirements and more.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tnwaltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Palace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing