We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Precinct - The BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Precinct

The Precinct
Reserve with OpenTable
The Precinct is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 1,954 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Columbia Parkway
Transit: There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.
Description: For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city. Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Precinct - The BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I love steak. There is no better place on the planet than The Precinct in Cincinnati, Ohio for the perfect steak prepared any way you like. I like the T-bone with crab and fantastic sauces on top!
The "Freddy" salad is like having a the best BLT you ever had.. "hold the toast." Whenever we have a special family event to celebrate.. it is The Precinct.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Metzlegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    88
    47
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Precinct Restaurant, Cincinnati, Ohio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. The prices are a little
high, but for a special occasion, this is the place to come in
Cincinnati.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 41Trav64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

One of the best steaks I've ever had. I read some bad reviews but it was a great experience for my wife and I. The waiter was professional and we didn't feel as though we were being rushed out the door like others have described. The wine selection was huge and there were some great options. It is expensive but well worth it in my opinion. The char on the steak was spectacular and it was cooked to order. We Loved our visit and highly recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank harlings4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
247 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A truly great steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Precinct serves fantastic steaks and has great service. The restaurant is fairly small, which means it is the restaurant in Cincinnati that you have to book your reservation the furthest out. It and the other Jeff Ruby restaurants are probably the priciest in the city.

The tables are close together, but we didn't feel intruded on by the people next to us. Also, the noise volume is quite moderate. That's helped by the lack of music in the dining area (at least I didn't hear any) and a fair amount of soft textures.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skline2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

It's somewhat surprising that some of the best filet mignon in the country is available here in Cincinnati at The Precinct. I have been constrained to eating filet as my only red meat option for the past three plus years due to dietary restrictions. As you might guess, when you are so constrained and eat red meat only once monthly, you want it to be special and the Precinct delivered as usual. Recently, I have taken a liking to their chili rub, so I guess I am no longer a purist. If you enjoy a little heat, it is definitely the way to go. The sides of baked potato and roasted mushrooms were also excellent.

Yes, it's loud (especially in the bar) and some of the tables are too close together, but if you want the best steak, come here. If you don't want to see or hear the person sitting next to you, go somewhere else. We had reservations in the bar and there was a live band cranking out the tunes - a little loud, even for the Precinct Bar. Our table was right next to the band. We could hardly hear our own conversation. Although we did not mention anything to the waitress, she immediately commented that she was having a hard time hearing us talk to her and that she was going to ask the band to turn it down a little.

She did but within minutes, the assistant GM was asking us if we'd like to be re-seated in the main dining area, which we gladly accepted. It was almost embarrassing how everyone who came by the rest of the evening wanted to be sure we were doing ok after moving. It was a nice touch and one of the things that makes The Precinct, The Precinct.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CinVinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Precinct also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to The Precinct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing