We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Might be the best restaurant in Cincinnati” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Precinct

The Precinct
Reserve with OpenTable
The Precinct is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,881 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Columbia Parkway
Transit: There is a public transit stop across the street from the front entrance.
Description: For Jeff Ruby, this is the steakhouse that started it all. In 1981, The Precinct was born in the former Cincinnati Police Patrol House Number 6. This turn-of-the-century, Romanesque-style structure would hold what is now the longest, continuously running white tablecloth restaurant in the city. Recently named one of America's Top 10 Steakhouses by USA Today and Gayot.com, The Precinct is frequently recognized as having Cincinnati’s best steaks, seafood and service. This consistent high level of quality and overall guest experience over 3 decades has endeared Precinct to celebrities, businesspeople, families and loyal diners alike.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Might be the best restaurant in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Everything about the Precinct is first class. The steaks are obviously the featured entrees, and some of them cost over $50, but there are lower cost options as well. You have your choice of the Freddie or Greek salads. We all enjoyed the Freddie, and the waiter gave us a free one to take home!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    78
    42
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
178 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Still Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I believe this is the first of Jeff Ruby's restaurants, and it is still getting it right after almost 30 years. Top-notch staff, service and food. Known for its steaks, $43 will get you a strip steak, choice of baked or mashed potato and salad - I recommend the Greek with tomatoes, olives and feta cheese - it's delicious. Valet parking ($5) is on site. We told them in advance we were celebrating our anniversary; the hostess acknowledged it, as did our excellent server (Ricky) who treated us to a piece of cheesecake. The manager and dining room captain both stopped by our table to see if we were happy - fine dining in Cincinnati!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CincyCher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cop Shop without the donuts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

An arresting experience (pardon the pun). Great food and service. This place is as much an experience as it is a restaurant

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love The Precinct”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a wonderful family dinner at the Precinct with our adult children. Everyone loved their steak. My daughter said her lobster was delicious. Our dinners were large, filling and delicious.
The restaurant was very busy but, we received very polite and courteous service from the wait staff. All I can say is " WOW", regarding the atmosphere and decor. It was as if we stepped back in time to a speak easy. The many chandeliers are just beautiful!
We are looking forward to our next visit to The Precinct.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pittsburgh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Experience, Not sure worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

At one time, the Precinct was THE steak place to go to. It's a very good restaurant in a really cool historic building. The servings are large and you're sure to have leftovers. I'm just not convinced it's completely worth the money, but all Cincinnatians should go once to cross it off their list.

Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Precinct also viewed

 

Been to The Precinct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing