We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice atmosphere”

Teak Thai Cuisine and Sushi Bar
Ranked #299 of 1,975 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Mount Adams
Cross street: Pavlion
Description: Teak Thai Cusine and Sushi Bar is located in Cincinnati and serves Thai Cuisine.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Good Thai food that can be brought to very spicy if that is your thing. They have a small nice seating area in back. Been twice and never disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bogeybacall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    42
    18
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food in Cincinnati”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Went to Teak for dinner a few nights ago with friends. Teak is a dependable choice in the Mt. Adams area, nothing amazing but nothing bad either. I had the chicken pad thai and it was fine. Between the 6 of us we all ordered different dishes and all of us enjoyed our food. Service was friendly and quick. I am sure I will go back to Teak on occasion but it's not the kind of thing I will be craving.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadtriptheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paro, Bhutan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Town”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Long time personal favorite. Ate their twice last week. Always get the Crispy Basil Duck. Volcano Shrimp is excellent. Panang Beef is my wife's favorite

Nice outdoor seating for summer. Sushi as well which for some reason every Cincinnati Thai restaurant feels compelled to serve...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GOP_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What is Thai for "Meh"?”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I had a little Thai Food. I had a little sushi.

The thai wide noodle dish I had was tasty, but not magnificent. The depth of flavor was less than I was accustomed to from this dish, and it was heavy on the hot spices, sacrificing heat for depth.

The sushi was a bit dry - and unremarkable. I never understand why restaurants feel the need to diversify in this way - the Thai would have ranked a very good, but the sushi dragged it down. The shrimp in the sushi lacked any shrimpy flavor.

The saki was served far too hot, and was of a mediocre quality.

Service was functional, but reasonably attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Well above average”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We ate at Teak about 2 weeks ago for probably the 30'th time in the last 10 years - it is one of my favorite Cincinnati restaurants. I had never read the TripAdvisor reviews and I was surprised at some of the negative ones. I am giving it 5 stars here even though it truthfully should get 4 stars to try to cancel some of the negative reviews.

First, the parking is pretty tough, as some others have said. They have free parking spaces in a lot right across St. Gregory St. from the entrance, but they only have about 8 spaces there and they fill up fast on busy nights. We last ate there at 6pm on a Tuesday because we were going somewhere else after and parking was easy. At 7:30 on Saturday night, not likely.

You enter at the level of the sushi bar, and there are about 12 steps up to the main dining level. The restaurant is in an old house, and the decor is tired and dusty for the most part, but it certainly is not "dirty" as one reviewer put it. You could be seated in one of three or four rooms from the old house, and we have eaten in all of them. When we have had reservations, we have never experienced the long additional waits that some others have described. I think we waited about 10 minutes once, but otherwise were seated when we walked in if we had reservations and were not early.

When you are seated, you get menus, the wine list (not extensive, but remember that this is a Thai restaurant), and pencils and order forms for sushi if you want some. I would agree that the sushi is a bit overpriced for what you get, but the selection is very wide, and it's good, so we sometimes order some and sometimes we skip it.

The food: I think the food is excellent. My terrific wife is vegetarian and does not tolerate overly greasy or oily food, and she enjoys the stir-fried vegetables at Thai. We've had crab puffs (fabulous!), miso soup, hot and sour soup, wonton soup, fried rice, pad thai, red, green and yellow curry, panang curry, teak trio, seafood delight, seafood vermicelli, and duck. Everything has always been very good and with big enough portions that there are usually leftovers.

Service is very good and friendly - the wait staff will explain dishes if asked and multiple people bring the dishes out when they are ready (so the whole table may not be served at the same time).

Go to Teak and then walk to the shops, or the Playhouse or Art Museum. I can hardly wait to go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F00lishTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teak Thai Cuisine and Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Teak Thai Cuisine and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing