We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Traditional French Bakery--read: BUTTER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The BonBonerie Bakery & Cafe

The BonBonerie Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #4 of 42 Bakeries in Cincinnati
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Traditional French Bakery--read: BUTTER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Not only are their creations wildy imaginative and gorgeous, they are just as tasty as they look--RICH RICH RICH. These treats are definately for any special occasion. The cafe is nice as well--"High Tea" is a special treat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeeSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonbonerie, Director of Sales at The BonBonerie Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review The BonBonerie. We hope you stop by during the holidays to try our Yule Log and get some of our French macarons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    22
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad experience with arrogant attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wedding was on June 2012, We decided go with Opera Cream and Tangerine flavors. Cake arrived on time and loved it when I saw it at the reception hall. We cut the cake and I ate my first piece of cake, found I was chewing on an acrylic nail. I showed it to my husband. I spent 450 + money on the best bakery in Cincinnati to pretty much eat an acrylic nail. I almost puke front of my guests. I was so worried about my guest happens to experience another acrylic nail. called Bon Bonerie, Carol, who was in charge of my wedding cake denied that human can make any mistakes and mentioned it is impossible for them to make any sort of mistakes, and all kind of excused such as ‘they are not allowed to wear any nail polish’, They blamed it on the person who cut the cake at the reception, but the best part…person who cut the cake was my Husband’s Uncle (I’m 100% sure he does not wear acrylic nails). Carol was very rude to me and pretty much hung up on me. THANKS TO THE BON BONERIE who made me hate cake. DEAR BON BONNERIE, THANKS FOR SPOILING MY WEDDING CAKE, YOU PRETTY MUCH MANAGED TO DISGUST THE BRIDGE AND WHEN EVER I OPEN MY FRIDGE, I SO MUCH WANTING TO THROW THAT STUPID TOP LAYER WITOUGH SAVING IT FOR OUR FIRST YEAR ANNIVERSARY.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dry Cake.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I tasted cake there for our wedding, and it was not impressive. Everything was a little dry, as if it had been frozen.

Helpful?
2 Thank samanth879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I took my mother & my wife to BonBonerie for lunch. It was a good dining experience. I had the chicken salad sandwich on fresh baked Dill bread - absolutely delicious. My wife had the Albacore Tuna sandwich on Dill bread w/a cup of Butternut Squash soup & the pasta salad and loved every portion. My mother had the Albacore Tuna sandwich on wheat w/a salad - loved it. Even though the portions were fairly large for us we HAD to share a piece of the Opera Cream cake and we were so glad we did! Our waitress was very cheerful & attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob3337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonbonerie, Public Relations Manager at The BonBonerie Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review and we are so glad to hear your experience at the cafe was worth the drive!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Opera Cream Cake rocks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

For the best cakes in Cincinnati, go here. It's a little hidden, tucked in off of Madison Road in Obrianville with limited parking, but worth the drive. The best part of planning our wedding was trying all their samples. Opera Cream is still our favorite, and I always try to pick one up for our anniversary and sometimes on a whim if I'm driving around that area.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrqtTrvlr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonbonerie, Director of Sales at The BonBonerie Bakery & Cafe, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thanks for the great review. You rock also
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The BonBonerie Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The BonBonerie Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing