We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cincinnati Institution Retains it's Star of Excellence”

Sugar'n Spice Restaurant
Ranked #66 of 1,975 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Serving Cincinnati since 1941. Original Wispy Thin Pancakes, Huge Fluffy Omelettes, Signature Sandwiches n' Specials. Today, Sugar n' Spice prides itself on creating a fun, friendly, comfortable atmosphere, serving the same great food that has kept people coming back for generations.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Cincinnati Institution Retains it's Star of Excellence”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

When I lived in Cincinnati, Sugar n' Spice was one of my favorite breakfast spots, so I couldn't pass it up on a recent visit. This place has the best pancakes I have ever tasted - thin, with slightly crispy edges, a wonderful flavor, not too filling, very satisfying. I went around 2PM and had breakfast for lunch, choosing the Breakfast Special - 2 eggs, choice of meat, 2 pancakes. I upgraded to Blueberry Pancakes, although it was a tough choice between that and the Chocolate Chip Pancakes. Everything was excellent as usual, served quickly and in perfect portions.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffTheWineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    39
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, would go again”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

While on a weekend trip on Cincy, we stopped here after reading about it on Trip Advisor. I had pancakes, scrambled eggs and bacon - all very good. My husband tried the Philly Cheesesteak omelet and enjoyed it very much. It was huge and came with bread choice. My son had the chocolate chip pancakes and also enjoyed them. Everyone was friendly, the place was clean and we had no problems wIth parking. We would recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarleyFamOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible, horribe, horrible !!!!!”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The food was so Good it made me over eat and service was so prompt that I had my coffee cup filled 3 times during my breakfast and now I am just jittery on coffee, that is a terrible and Horrible thing for me. The spinach and sausage Omelet I had was full of both of them, unlike the other fancy place I ate during the week which made this one looks like a loaded Ford expedition compared to a Amish buggy. The staff and the owner of the place is preserving the art of playful and genuine hospitality without frills. I am looking forward to my frequent visits to this diner. See you guys there!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amitintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA, Ohio, Cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great little dump”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

It looks like something from a 1950's movie and it's not in the best area. But damn good breakfasts.

Helpful?
Thank CrankyCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Food was just o.k”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have traveled ver the years and have eatened at many breakfast/brunch places and this place in my opinion is just o.k. I was expecting fresher ingredients and cheaper prices. My husband and I spent $30.00 on a omelette, coffee and breakfast quesadalia. My quesadalia was just o.k. My eggs tasted old and well as veggies in quesadalia. The coffee was just o.k. Our service was good and i loved the diversity of people dining, but to say that this place is excellent, no way. Now I might offend a ton of people, but this place is just o.k. If were on vacation visiting Cincinnati, I would eat at Blue Ash Chili or another breakfast/brunch diner. The pictures on the wall were nice, the decor is old, I'm o.k with that because I love hole in the walls!! Anyway, save your $30.00 dollars for two entrees and go somewhere else.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TonifromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar'n Spice Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Sugar'n Spice Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing