We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent home made icecream and reasonable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aglamesis Brothers

Aglamesis Brothers
Ranked #4 of 50 Dessert in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Oakley
Description: Aglamesis Brothers manufactures premium ice cream and gourmet chocolates and serves them in an authentic turn-of-the century ice cream parlor environment.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
241 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent home made icecream and reasonable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

My family and I ate here for dessert and it was excellent. We looked on Tripadvsor to find something other than our usual Greaters! We found this place on Madison Rd, right next to a really cool book store, the Blue Manatee. My ice cream sandwich was excellent, I had pecan vanilla between two chocolate like wafers!! Really good!! My daughter had the lemon freeze AKA, lemon sorbet. She enjoyed it as well. This place also sold candy, chocolate exc. it's like an old fashion ice cream shop with a soda bar. Great service, great prices, good icecream.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TonifromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    28
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peach Sorbet at Aglamesis Brothers Tastes Like Summer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

The other flavors do not disappoint. We love this delightful ice cream parlor with friendly service, delicious ice cream, and those silver dishes! So sorry we live hundreds of miles away.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best ice cream EVER.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Aglamesis Brothers have the best ice cream ever. Much better than Graeters. The handmade candy is yum.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“yesterday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

great ambience, not so good ice cream. my chocolate had ice crystals.
i will rather have a greater day

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rja45243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The. Best. Dessert.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Most Cincinnatians debate the best ice cream in the city between Graeter's and UDF. That's probably because there's no debate about Aglamesis. This isn't just ice cream: it's pure, frozen, sugary love. Not to mention Aglamesis hand made chocolate desserts and other non-ice cream fare. UDF is convenient. Graeter's has achieved commercial success and is even exporting their ice cream out of the city. Aglamesis is where we go to celebrate gladly driving past numerous UDF's and Graeter's. The raspberry chocolate chip is a classic. I often try their seasonal flavors. Then there's the nectar soda. I'm not sure what's in it, but it should be served with a side of insulin. Watching them prepare a nectar soda is like watching a mad scientist at work in a lab. It's been my favorite since I was a kid and continues to be my go-to dessert when I want to splurge.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravelingDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aglamesis Brothers also viewed

 

Been to Aglamesis Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing