We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Get the ribs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,892 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Eggleston Avenue
Houston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Get the ribs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Each time we go to Cincinnati to visit friends they take us to the Montgomery Inn.The food is delicious, but the ribs are amazing! Ive had ribs from all over, but these are the best..very meaty and the sauce is unbelievable. If you want to eat there, do the call ahead seating or you will be waiting an hour or two to get a table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank salliejanep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    312
    180
    69
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“SO neat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The views are awesome, a great place to go for a nice special dinner. Weekends can get packed, so don't go if you are starving, or plan to eat a light snack in advance for your wait. Neat history, pretty tasty food. It's not the best barbecue in Cincinnati, but it is very good.

Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Pierce County, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Overrated but fine if you like barbecue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Heard rave reviews and I was looking forward to this place. My party ordered Onion Straws and Saratoga Chips for appetizers. The straws were good but the chips were just thick potato chips you can get at the grocery store. I had the tomato soup vs salad and it tasted like it had barbecue sauce in it. Not good. I had the chicken and shrimp dinner. The shrimp were good and the chicken was fine but I did not like the barbecue sauce. My daughter wanted duck and neither one of us liked the taste. I guess if you love barbecue, you might try this restaurant and like it but otherwise find someplace else to eat. The views are nice of the river and the service was quick.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ramblingnowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Wow”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Well we just moved here to cincy and got tons of recommendations about going to this place. So after a day at the zoo and the reds museum, we hit it up. Let me tell you it was terrible. First off, the place looks way outdated. Needs an upgrade especially for the prices they are charging. We get sat and look over the menu. I was blown away at the prices. But , based on the recommandation and the hype I was ready to deal with it. We got two dishes. One was a toms platter and the other was some bbq sampler. Ok here is the deal. I am gonna rate each piece of food that was at our table because there was quite a bit of food.

beef brisket- horrible
chicken wings- good
shrimp- good
jalapeno corn bread- might be the worst thing I ever ate
fries- just ok
mac n chz- decent
now for the "famous" ribs- seriously they were so flavorless and unappealing. I could not have been more disappointed . I went with my girlfriend and with a tip and NO ALCOHOL was 72.00. Absolutley outrageous.

The server couldn't remember the specials for the day and read off a card for what seemed to be 10 minutes... and a group of servers were talking in a corner and laughing about how they spilled bbq on someone at a table... just not professional.

I will NEVER go back...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Top 3 BBQ Restaurants in the Country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have traveled to many corners of the BBQ United States. Texas, Kansas, Memphis, North Carolina, and my hometown of Chicago has its own amazing collections. Montgomery Inn in Cincinnati easily makes it into my top three of BBQ restaurants.

My suggestion: order "Saratoga Chips and Onion Straws" and share an entree of "Big Ted's Platter." The portions are large and the desserts are yummy. Love it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveling-Illini4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing