We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ribs and duck” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse

Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,914 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Eggleston Avenue
Salina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Ribs and duck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I came here for a business dinner and found it quite nice. The restaurant was packed and quite noisy, which made it a little difficult to socialize but that's my only complaint. The food was outstanding. The duck was terrific, and they have a nice selection of wine.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seahawkfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    322
    186
    70
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bland and tasteless”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just finished dinner here. Sorry, but I have had better ribs at Fridays, Outback, Denny's, you name it. No flavoring (hickory or othertwise) no seasoning. I tried the ribs with sauce on the side so I could savor what I assumed would be the flavor of the meat - not. Absolutely tasteless and lacked freshness. Other dinners with me had the same bland experience. The service was ok, but the waitress coughing her lungs up while taking our order was a bit un-settleling.

No reason what so ever to go back, except maybe for the views and a cocktail. I suppose burgers could be ok. Don't go for the ribs!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoKappa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
373 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Noisy, fun, delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Noisy, 40 minute wait in the bar despite a reservation, but lots of happy people anticipating the delicious ribs. Great river view. And did I mention the delicious ribs? Large menu of other things to eat, but really, you should have the ribs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcgannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Although not a huge fan of BBQ I loved theirs. The meat, I had chicken and chop, was cooked perfectly and the BBQ sauce, server on the side, was flavorful and not overly sweet. The place has an upscale feel but still casual and staff are friendly and helpful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steveg2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I Love This Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I took one last trip down memory lane prior to relocating to Knoxville TN. Same great experience I have come to know and love. I often wonder why such a excellent product has not made it to the South. I know I would eat there on a regular basis. Love it and will enjoy it once again as I swing through Cincinnati!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to Montgomery Inn at the Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing