We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip! Take the tour!”

American Sign Museum
Ranked #7 of 182 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are home to a visual history of American Signage from 1870 through 1970. Hand carved wooden signs, gold leaf, electric light bulbs, and neon all grace our walls and tell amazing stories, especially when told by our founder and avid collector Tod. Take a trip down memory lane and visit us in the Camp Washington neighborhood of Cincinnati!
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the trip! Take the tour!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The thought and effort that went into this museum alone makes it well worth a visit. The founder personally gives tours and his passion for his work is infectious.
Sharing an hour with someone some passionate is inspiring.
The streetscape is like icing on the cake!
Well done.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Egtitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    119
    30
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Neat Stop”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The tour was a little over an hour. The founder personally gave it. He was very knowledgable about sign history in general and knew every piece in the museum. It was quite interesting. My sons are 9 and 13 and both really like American Pickers. We wondered if the tour would be too detailed for them- but they both really enjoyed it. My 5 yr old wasn't quite old enough to appreciate the tour but really liked the signs- especially the Big Boy and the McDonalds one. It's a great stop and only takes an hour or 2 to see. Well worth a visit whether passing through or you live in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishssa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“History in living color.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Todd has worked hard to preserve and tell the story of America's sign history. It's so fun to see the old signs that bring back memories. The tour is definitely worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nancyandlarry1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't be hesitant...Just Go!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We almost skipped this, because we weren't sure how it would be. My husband is a big American Pickers fans, so that's why we went, lol! It's really cool! The founder gives the tours and he knows everything!!! If you live in Ohio, you should have a wedding reception here! It would be spectacular! The $15 admission seemed like a lot, but the museum is not for profit, so that was more understandable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinGautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worthwhile and Quirky”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The American Sign Museum might be the only collection of its kind - we had a very enjoyable time re-living lots of Americana, memories of signage and products we'd forgotten, and learning about earlier times. The staff was extremely friendly, and the owner gave us an impromptu tour! This stop can be covered in an hour if you don't have a lot of time, but 2 hours is ideal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmyHeinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to American Sign Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing