We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice collection” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of American Sign Museum

American Sign Museum
Ranked #8 of 171 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are home to a visual history of American Signage from 1870 through 1970. Hand carved wooden signs, gold leaf, electric light bulbs, and neon all grace our walls and tell amazing stories, especially when told by our founder and avid collector Tod. Take a trip down memory lane and visit us in the Camp Washington neighborhood of Cincinnati!
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice collection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our family of four toured this museum and enjoyed the variety of signs and the history of them. The tour was worthwhile and very informative. The design of the museum is creative and attractive, however, it's a bit small and we thought it was overpriced ($50 for the four of us). We spent about 1.5 hours here. That being said, I'd recommend this for middle-aged or older adults who will no doubt relate to the variety of signs!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MOCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    99
    25
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Micro Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had an awesome time at this museum. There were only a few other people there so I was able to have plenty of fun taking photos of the gorgeous vintage signs. They have their own inhouse Neon shoop which is really cool also. Be sure and stop in.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fritz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The American Sign Museum is a unique and interesting experience. This was my first time in their new location (they were in fairly cramped quarters before), and they've done a great job with the space making it seem like a streetscape. They have an unusual collection of all kinds of signs across many decades. The exhibits are interesting and informative. I would put this on my list of things to do in Cincinnati, for locals and visitors alike.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelpro513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
1 review
“If you love vintage Americana-- you will be so impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

A great tour, an amazing museum-- wonderful interpretation. I felt like a kid again! The history of American signage is the history of our main streets and highways. I'm so glad that someone is so professionally and sympathetically preserving this heritage.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
322 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Recently redone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The American Sign Museum moved to new quarters in June 2012 and I went soon after they opened. Everything was clean and nicely displayed. It was fun to go with someone and share rememberances of some of the signs of the past. The place brought back many memories. They have several really big signs and many smaller items in display cases. It is in an older section of town and has a free parking lot. I found the museum very interesting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tlynn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to American Sign Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing