We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the tour!”

American Sign Museum
Ranked #7 of 183 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are home to a visual history of American Signage from 1870 through 1970. Hand carved wooden signs, gold leaf, electric light bulbs, and neon all grace our walls and tell amazing stories, especially when told by our founder and avid collector Tod. Take a trip down memory lane and visit us in the Camp Washington neighborhood of Cincinnati!
Chicago Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Get the tour!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

This is a new location as of June 2012. It costs $15 for adult admission. We were there about an hour and a half. We happened to arrive 5 minutes before the tour at 2:00 pm. The man who started the museum gives the tour. He talks about the history of sign making and the story behind many of the signs he collected. It was very interesting, but small children might get bored. After the museum tour you can go into a neon sign shop and they semonstrate how they make neon signs. It was a good museum but the tour really made it 5 stars.

Helpful?
1 Thank 80hours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    124
    32
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting and de-"light"-ful”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This museum is a great way to spend a few hours whether you are from Cincinnati and want to just do an afternoon away from the house, or if you are from out of town and have a few hours but don't want to go to an art museum or a president's home. It is interesting visually, but as other writers have mentioned, the tour with Todd is a MUST. If you don't take the tour, you will just be looking at a bunch of signs without getting a sense of how they all tie together. The new facility is roomy enough to adequately display what is there, but unfortunately and ironically, for a sign museum is is poorly signed from the street. Without a GPS you might pass it by. At the end of the tour we had the option of going into the neon repair shop for a short explanation of how neon tubes are made and repaired, and that was short and very interesting. I highly recommend this, especially if you are old enough to remember when McDonalds burgers were 15 cents and Howard Johnsons was a restaurant chain instead of a hotel chain.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepid_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I really liked this place. It was clean and had a lot to look at. I wish we would have been there at a time when they gave the guided tour. I would recommend planning the trip around that. We could read captions, but I think it would have been better with the tour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sasajs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“If you like neon this is your place”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This museum is very hard to find in its new location but well worth it. The museum specializes in renovating old neon signs and there is quite a lot of variety and color including some very large signs from Howard Johnsons and McDonalds. Brought back memories of when there was a more common usage of neon signs especially for places to eat and motels. The museum is not real large and doesn't take much more than an hour. While somewhat pricey it all goes for a good cause of preserving historic american signage. When we had visited they had only been in their new location for three weeks and the people that run the place are extremely nice. And parking is free.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you think you'll like it, you'll love it.”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I'm not going to tell you to rush over to the sign museum if it sounds boring to you. But if it sounds interesting, it really will be. They're in a new facility that they've put a lot of work (and money) into. The displays are great, and the free tour (11 & 2 daily as of my writing) added a lot that we wouldn't have known on our own. My favorite were the signs from the early days of neon, when it was the hot new thing, and even churches were installing neon signs.

As of this writing, the path to the sign museum is, ironically, not well-marked with signs. They have just moved and are working with the highway department to get signs up. Make sure you take your GPS or have a good map with you.

While you are there, you are close to historic Camp Washington Chili, consider eating there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to American Sign Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing