We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy and Yummy Brownies”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clifton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cincinnati
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clifton House
Ranked #2 of 16 Cincinnati B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Comfy and Yummy Brownies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2006

Awesome food and wonderful service.

  • Liked — comfy bed
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
36
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
reading, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2005

For the past 10 years I have been staying at hotels for every one of my trips so this was actually the first time my wife and I stayed at a Bed & Breakfast and boy was it great.

All of the rooms are beautiful and very well kept. There is plenty of food, soda, magazines, books and so forth to help yourself with anytime you are hungry or bored (and what a surprise not to have to pay for food at a place you are staying compared to hotels). The place is run by Gus and Nancy who are both very nice people to talk to. They really go out of their way to make you feel at home and they do a fantastic job at that.

The neighborhood is rather historic and relaxing. There is plenty of parking in the area. I would strongly suggest anyone going to Cincinnati to check out the Clifton House. You will love it.

A+

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spaceghost212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2005

My husband and I stayed at The Clifton House Inn during an anniversary retreat. It was a wonderful getaway. We stayed in the Tuxedo Room, which was very sophisticated, but not stuffy. The best part of our stay was the hospitality provided by Nancy and Gus, the inkeepers. They were very friendly and helpful with ideas of where to go and what to do. And, as at any warm home, we often gathered in the kitchen to talk about our days! The inn is about two blocks from the Ludlow district and our room had a folder full of restaurant ideas. Ludlow had great dining and a restored movie theater that shows mainly "art movies."
There were so many wonderful touches around the inn. Not only was wine set out at cocktail time, there was a small refrigerator near the rooms stocked with bottled water, sodas and a few beers. All complimentary. The house was also filled with books and the best magazines!
We met several repeat guests while we were there and hope we will become one of them! I highly recommend The Clifton House.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

My husband and I stayed in the carriage house for our anniversary and it was wonderful. Our suite consisted of a large living room and full bath w/ whirpool tub downstairs. On the second floor was the bedroom w/ king bed. The suite was beautifully decorated and wonderfully restored, retaining much of the character of it's former use.
We toured most of the rooms inside of the main house and they were all nice, as well. Breakfast was good, but not great. They really need to work on their coffee, but I will admit that we are coffee snobs!
The Innkeepers were fun to chat up and they gave us a great recommendation for dinner. You can walk to a great little steet about two blocks away that is full of locally owned shops, restaurants, and coffee houses. Sort of Bohemian and eclectic. Nice place to walk around and blend in with the locals.
We will definately be back to the Clifton House.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ramblinwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2003

I have stayed at the Clifton House B&B three times for work in Cincinnati. Going there feels like home, but better! The historic building in the Clifton section of Cincinnati is near the University of Cincinnati. The rooms are elegant, well decorated and very comfortable. The main house has four guest rooms, all with their own bath and unique character, decorated in antiques and all quite comfortable. The carriage house has been turned into a bridal suite and is cozy, romantic and private. Breakfast is included and is always fantastic, including local Cincinnati favorites and is served in the spacious first floor living area. The hosts are the best! Wine and cheese after work was the highlight of the day. All in all, for a road warrior who spends 40 plus weeks in hotels per year, this is one of my favorites.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cincinnati hotels
Central Business District
Hilton Cincinnati Netherland Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Residence Inn by Marriott Cincinnati Downtown/The Phelps
Central Business District
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
21c Museum Hotel Cincinnati
#4 of 49 in Cincinnati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House

Property: Clifton House
Address: 500 Terrace Ave, Cincinnati, OH 45220-1917
Location: United States > Ohio > Cincinnati > Clifton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cincinnati
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Clifton House Cincinnati, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing