We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Old Bridge”

Roebling Suspension Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.00*
and up
Roebling Point Food and Culture Tour in Covington KY
Ranked #6 of 183 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Old Bridge”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Growing up in a small town outside of Cincinnati, we were always excited to go downtown to see the bridge. I remember we used to love driving across it and humming along with the tone of the tires rolling over the open surface. They called it a singing road. Now, living in SoFlo, everytime I go home to visit, I always make sure to stop by and see the old bridge.

Be sure to go to the Kentucky side and snap photos down at the park. It's an amazing view of the Queen City.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jish2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    133
    24
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Drive it every day”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Love it. Great structure. Gets me to work with very little traffic. I believe it was built in preparation of the Brooklyn Bridge (sort of a "test" to see if it would work).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek OH
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“History in the heartland”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We've walked it, driven over it, sailed under it, yet never tire of seeing this 150 year old grand structure that was Roebling's tryout before building the Brooklyn bridge. It's a gem that is just one more standout on the jeweled Cincinnati riverfront. If you're lucky you'll get to see a paddlewheel riverboat down below, along with the barge traffic that is always just around the corner. Don't miss enjoying the blue bridge!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beavergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“important piece of history”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Actually all we did was drive over it a few times but it is an impressive structure and knowing it was designed/built by Roebling makes it an important part of American history.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvg
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It's just a bridge isn't it?”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Roebling is a suspension bridge and the date on it is (I think) 1865. It is a prototype of the Brooklyn Bridge in New York. It is blue, has a humming metal flooring that sings as one drives across. One can look down and see the Ohio River flowing westward towards the Mississippi. A sight not to miss.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank drmmcvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roebling Suspension Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Roebling Suspension Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing