We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very educational and interactive”

National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
The Nati in a Nutshell Cincinnati Food Tour Including Carew Tower Entrance Fee
Ranked #9 of 182 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Cincinnati, Ohio, the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center stands as the nation's newest monument to freedom. It brings to life the importance - and relevance - of struggles for freedom around the world and throughout history, including today.
columbus, ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very educational and interactive”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Love this museum and how everything is presented. There was a special quilt exhibit there that I could have spent hours at! My 11 year old enjoyed as much as my 22 year old!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mommajoColumbus_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    166
    61
    26
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of a kind experience ”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

I spent 4 hours there with my 15 year old niece and 4 young children (9, 6, 3 and 18 months). This was the best way to teach my children about the abolitionist movement, slavery and the Underground Railroad. Several of the exhibits moved me to tears. The employees were friendly and knowledgable and went out of their way to interact with my young kids and make the experience worthwhile. There were several tables set up on the 2nd floor for hands on activities for kids. My daughters were read to and then made a rag doll. The short films were great and we were alway informed if sensitive information would be presented.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
207 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Some great material presented here and multiple films. Only criticism is that there is a bit of repetition and it is not very clear how to best tour the museum.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Historiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Ohio
Level Contributor
298 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The Smithsonian Museum does not have anything on this place. Excellent day and so educational. Hands on exhibits and so easy to navigate through the places. The guides are numbered and very self explanatory. Plan to allow 4-5 hours to see the entire exhibit. Would be best to check the Reds schedule and avoid game days as parking can be a hassle.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CountryGal5759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Powerful for all ages”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My family of four visited the museum on August 12, 2014. It proved a powerful experience for all of us. The museum effectively uses a variety of media -- ranging from videos to artists quilts -- to convey the courage and bravery of those who participated in the Underground Railroad. The range of media and intellectual sophistication appealed to kids (my 11 & 8 year-olds, who are not history buffs, were blown away) without watering down the material in a way that could insult the intelligence of adults or trivialize the subject matter at hand. The museum makes history feel immediate. A visit reminds you that in this very location (Cincinnati), in a time not long ago, a group of people found their conscience and put their lives and families on the line for justice.

Two minor tips: (1) the museum relies fairly heavily on a smart phone app for self-guided tours. The app is strong and considerably enhances the visitor experience. So have a smart phone (or two) ready to use during the visit and use it. And (2) for a family outing about 2 to 3 hours will be about right. The museum is emotionally powerful and 2-3 hours felt like about all we could process in a day.

Powerful stuff. This is very easy to highly recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Underground Railroad Freedom Center also viewed

 

Been to National Underground Railroad Freedom Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing