We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good history lesson”

National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
The Nati in a Nutshell Cincinnati Food Tour Including Carew Tower Entrance Fee
Ranked #9 of 178 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Cincinnati, Ohio, the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center stands as the nation's newest monument to freedom. It brings to life the importance - and relevance - of struggles for freedom around the world and throughout history, including today.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very good history lesson”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The museum is very interactive and visual. Sad lesson of American history. It's located in a nice area, and you can go for a walk or choose between lots of food options.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurora_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    165
    60
    26
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding attraction for the nation to understand the oppression of people”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I went with a group of friends to the Center thinking oh it would be ok. Well I was blow away by the importance of the Center's message to the world. Intolerance and dehumanization is a major issue for our world to deal with effectively. This is certainly a must see and must get into place. I hope all children around Cincinnati go there. Perhaps we will improve the future.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonMCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice to have in Cincinnati”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Housed in an architecturally beautiful museum, the Freedom Center describes the role Cincinnati had in the Underground Railroad and is worth seeing. In hindsight, we should have got audio guides or a guided tour as wandering around on our own, we weren't sure in what order we should view displays. In 'The Banks' area around the museum, there are many good places to grab a bite after seeing the museum as well as plenty of (pay) parking nearby.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrqtTrvlr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodhouse
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definitely worth seeing”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We loved our trip to the Freedom Center. Some people may find some of the scenes graphic, but it is definitely a part of the heritage of our country. Very moving & a sad part of where our country used to be....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank illinoisirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Underground Railroad Museum, Cincinnati, Ohio”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A very worthwhile place to go in Cincinnati. Cincinnati was actually the city where many slaves fled across the river to Covington, Ky, during the Civil War era. This museum is a block or so from the river. There is an eternal flame at the outside of the 2nd floor. There is an old slave pen there. A teacher was there with a group when we went and he mentioned that there are slaves now in many parts of the the world who are not free.

Cincinnati is an old city with a lot of history. The land rolls around the river and is home to many parks, restaurants and other sites. We stayed at the Embassy Suites across the river in Ky. and were able to see the Cin. Reds games from our window. Several restaurants are known for their chili, which should be eaten. Went to the Blue Wisp Jazz Club for the opening of the Rosemary Clooney room with the orchestra she played with. They play weekly also, I believe on Wednesdays. Mt. Adams is a fun place on the hill with restaurants, etc. and great views!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 37thgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Underground Railroad Freedom Center also viewed

 

Been to National Underground Railroad Freedom Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing