We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Value!”
Review of Burnell's - CLOSED

Burnell's
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Value!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This place is a hidden treasure! The food is excellent and the prices reasonable. The only catch is they don't have a license so it is BOB. But there is no charge for corkage. Amy, our server was outstanding, explaining the menu and helping us to make choices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 60993John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great secret in downtown.”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Glad we stumbled on Burnells- in addition to the wonderful staff, the chef is fantastic- flavors, combos and menu were as good as we've found in cincy- definitely will be back--

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pbray47025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Interesting menu, was told it changes frequently and offers a bit of flexibility to the diner. VFor instance my wife and I shared a "shared plate", basically an appetizer and each had a small plate. One can also add a soup, grits, Mac and Cheese, etc. The service and quality of food is excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Fantastic food, great service, very attentive chef! I had the lamb chop, my husband had the pork tenderloin and if Kobe had to do with pork, this would be it. It was the most tender piece of pork he has ever had, I loved the lamb. We shared a Caesars salad and the shortbread cookies YUM and it was a perfect meal for a late night. Important to note that this is BYOB and the only place open was the Kroger on Vine......not a great wine selection. Matter of fact, I didn't know you could still get Boone's Farm, what a deal at $3.49.bottle. They did have a decent red, Acronym - but you should plan ahead if you want alcohol with dinner. We plan to go back soon and often. There were no vegetarian or vegan meals offered, BUT we were told the chef is very adept and could have whipped something up. DO NOT MISS THIS RESTAURANT! Cincinnati has great food, this just proves it. www.burnellscincy.com/

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CinciVick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“AMAZING Food & Service!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Unbelievable food and service! Everyone should go check it out. BYOB too so you can grab a few bottles of wine or beer and they provide you some glassware. LOVE THIS PLACE! If you forget they will recommend a place to grab a bottle of wine around the corner. The food is served as "small plates" and it is a ton of fun to order a bunch of food and share with everyone.

Word of advice - if they are doing the cookies for dessert it will be the best few dollars you will ever spend. They are cooked to order and a PERFECT end to the meal. They were delicious.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burnell's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing