We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Fun”
Review of The Blue Wisp Jazz Club - CLOSED

The Blue Wisp Jazz Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Blue Wisp has been a fixture of the Cincinnati, and national jazz scenes for 33 years. Our stage has seen the best in local, national and international musicians. Jazz has a strong and rather unknown history in Cincinnati, producing a wealth of talent. There is music seven nights a week, all year long. Whether you’re a visitor, or a Cincinnati resident, we hope that you come discover this great American art form in our new venue at 700 Race Street in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, Ohio.
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly and Fun”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were drawn to the Blue Wisp to see Cincinnati's Sinatra, Matt Snow. We were not disappointed, and were surprised at how large a place the Blue Wisp is. There is a spacious bar area in the front of the place, and another spacious dining and entertainment area, which has a lot of street frontage, with a wall of windows. Our server was a friendly young lady named Tiffany who recommended the chicken and prosciutto linguini in a mushroom cream sauce. The dish was not only delicious, but so plentiful that I had enough to take home for the next day. My husband had braised short ribs with mashed potatoes, which he thoroughly enjoyed. The entertainer, Matt Snow, was a gracious entertainer who has that Sinatra sound which is so enjoyable. He made sure to greet and interact with everyone in the room. We can recommend him and the Blue Wisp for a great evening out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfiend551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent staff”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were staying a few blocks away and decided to go in for a drink early afternoon. Bartender fixed us very good Bloody Mary's and mentioned they have half price drinks during Happy Hour. We went back later and had wine/beer and were planning to go somewhere else to eat. Bartender (same one from earlier) handed us a menu and said we would not find better food or better value anywhere. He was right. Beef medallions were wonderful as were the mashed potatoes. My husband liked his crab cakes also. Only thing I was not impressed with was their signature dessert bread pudding. It was good but not exceptional. So we did not experience any jazz except the background music but thoroughly enjoyed the Blue Wisp.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beer was great, music was far greater”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

DO NOT miss the Blue Wisp Big Band if you are in Cinci, if you slightly like any kind of music. I like classical and sacred music, and I greatly enjoyed this wonderful group of first rate musicians.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank thunderfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun night”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had a great time here. Ordered drinks and aps during the entertainment. Great service, great talent, fun night.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danigirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Big Band Wednesday - A Jazz Gem Right Under our Noses”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hey Cincinnati (and dear Cinci visitors), Did you know that every Wednesday evening John Von Ohlen and the multigenerational 16-piece Blue Wisp Big Band play at 8:30?! Make it a night and come early for dinner before making your way past the bar to the music room. I recommend the Blackened Tuna. There's a $12 cover to get into the music room, but of course the music also has a tendancy to drift through the doorway on into the dining room. ...Can't make it Wednesday, there's music every night at the Blue Wisp.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Wisp Jazz Club also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing