We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the beer and atmosphere - eat somewhere else!”

Moerlein Lager House
Reserve with OpenTable
Moerlein Lager House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 1,979 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mehring Way
Description: The heritage of Cincinnati's storied brewing history comes alive along the banks of the Ohio River at this world-class restaurant and brewery. Prominently situated in the dynamic Smale Riverfront Park, the Moerlein Lager House offers a guest experience unlike any other—a working microbrewery producing a full line of Moerlein craft brews, and delectable fare featuring grain spent breads, hand-carved sandwiches, and smoked rotisserie meats… foods reminiscent of those served in the city’s celebrated 19th century beer gardens.
kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Go for the beer and atmosphere - eat somewhere else!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

You'll think you're in Seattle or Vancouver by the interior but instead, you're looking out on the Ohio River. The atmosphere is exceptional - especially for a place in Ohio, and the staff is pretty friendly. The beer (especially the OTR) is excellent. I recommend getting a sampler of 3 different beers. I have been here now four times... I always order food, hoping that my biting reviews all over websites would get the chef to change, but evidently, he (or she) is very stubborn with taste buds that are dead. Trouble is - the food all tastes like somebody sneaked into the kitchen and threw WAY too much hot peppers into everything to PUNK the diners. Don't get me wrong - I regularly eat Indian and Thai food and I like spicy - but there's a big difference between spicy and food that's practically inedible. It's not like they have to make it that way to get people to drink more beer - that's a given because the beer's so good. Too bad the food has consistently been disappointing - and OVER SPICED...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    427
    96
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Quiet on a cold mid week night in January, service was fast and friendly. I can imagine it being very busy if there was a game on at the adjacent ball park or nearby football stadium. Food was tasty and a good range of beers to choose from as well. Will definitely go there again next time I visit.
Two notes, my gps brought me to a point about a block short of the restaurant. When you turn right off 2nd St E go one block further south towards the river. Also don't be fooled by their valet parking go round the corner on to W Mehring Way and you will find a large underground parking garage for half the price with stairs that exit out right by the entrance to Morlein.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steveg2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service, Great Food!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My friend and I went on a busy saturday night and there was a 45 minute wait, so we found seats at the upstairs bar. The bartenders all worked together as a team, and were incredibly friendly, knowledgeable about the beer, and generally just really great! They didn't bother us, but didn't ignore us. They even had poured a beer for a table by accident and ended up giving it to us on the house. We ordered the Caprese flatbread, which was a great price, large, and very good. We also got the Parmasean Garlic Fries which were FANTASTIC...i'm craving them right now. They were served with Ketchup and two different sauces, and we got the beer cheese to go along with them. I highly recommend the fries. We will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Group Dinner”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Seven couples had a great time. The food was good but not exceptional. It is definitely a beer lovers place to dine. Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Biggest disappointment was the sweet potatoe chips-totally bland.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Service, Beer, and Food”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great architecture. Sit up stairs for a better atmosphere and a view. Awesome food! Great Beer. Nice staff. Kid friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sprout4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moerlein Lager House also viewed

 

Been to Moerlein Lager House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing