We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moerlein Lager House

Moerlein Lager House
Reserve with OpenTable
Moerlein Lager House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 1,878 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mehring Way
Description: The heritage of Cincinnati's storied brewing history comes alive along the banks of the Ohio River at this world-class restaurant and brewery. Prominently situated in the dynamic Smale Riverfront Park, the Moerlein Lager House offers a guest experience unlike any other—a working microbrewery producing a full line of Moerlein craft brews, and delectable fare featuring grain spent breads, hand-carved sandwiches, and smoked rotisserie meats… foods reminiscent of those served in the city’s celebrated 19th century beer gardens.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Group Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Seven couples had a great time. The food was good but not exceptional. It is definitely a beer lovers place to dine. Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Biggest disappointment was the sweet potatoe chips-totally bland.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    340
    72
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Service, Beer, and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great architecture. Sit up stairs for a better atmosphere and a view. Awesome food! Great Beer. Nice staff. Kid friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sprout4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“View, drinks and history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

For great view and romantic ambiance - sit upstairs. If there is a wait, sit at the bar up there - it's nice too and different from the main floor. The main floor is like a loud sports bar and doesn't have the view. History is great, loved the wall murals and we bought souvenirs. The beer was good, and the signature drinks were great. We didn't really ear here - just ate french fries which were good. There were several bartenders sharing the load - and 3 out of 4 were great.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BKMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food and good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The food was very good--and so was the beer selection. The view of the water is great. Location right next to the baseball stadium would be great before or after baseball games (though I assume it would be very crowded before/after baseball games)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewBVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Great Find For Beer & Food Lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I were first time visitors to Cincinnati over the Christmas Break. We were in town to attend a football game and decided to spend a few days enjoying the city. Since we had been told that the Riverfront had seen a lot of renovations we chose to walk down to see what it had for dinner. My husband is a HUGE beer aficionado so the prospect of dining at a lager house was a delight for him. He was absolutely not disappointed. Though we did wait a very long time to get a table, it was well worth it. We were very lucky to have Dave as our server and he was absolutely outstanding. Not only was he well versed in the menu, but his knowledge of the dozens and dozens of beers available was marvelous. He had absolutely perfect timing as a server and, though the restaurant was packed, we never felt rushed or forgotten. Dave took the time to discuss the details of the beers with my husband and even brought a few small tasters for my husband to try so as he could make the appropriate choices for his palate as the night went on.
Our meals were fresh and very tasty. The menu provides a good variety to meet whatever you might be in the mood for. Though it is a lager house, the mixed cocktails were also very good. The portions were far too large to finish but the take-away made excellent leftovers.
My husband and I love to travel and are foodies. We have the occasion to meet many servers. Dave has a passion for what he does and excels at it. He is an asset to the restaurant and a gem for diners who have the chance to meet him. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant and look forward to another trip to Cincinnati so we can stop in here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveThisLife07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moerlein Lager House also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Moerlein Lager House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing