We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good food and good beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moerlein Lager House

Moerlein Lager House
Reserve with OpenTable
Moerlein Lager House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 1,883 Restaurants in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mehring Way
Description: The heritage of Cincinnati's storied brewing history comes alive along the banks of the Ohio River at this world-class restaurant and brewery. Prominently situated in the dynamic Smale Riverfront Park, the Moerlein Lager House offers a guest experience unlike any other—a working microbrewery producing a full line of Moerlein craft brews, and delectable fare featuring grain spent breads, hand-carved sandwiches, and smoked rotisserie meats… foods reminiscent of those served in the city’s celebrated 19th century beer gardens.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food and good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The food was very good--and so was the beer selection. The view of the water is great. Location right next to the baseball stadium would be great before or after baseball games (though I assume it would be very crowded before/after baseball games)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewBVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    355
    77
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Great Find For Beer & Food Lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I were first time visitors to Cincinnati over the Christmas Break. We were in town to attend a football game and decided to spend a few days enjoying the city. Since we had been told that the Riverfront had seen a lot of renovations we chose to walk down to see what it had for dinner. My husband is a HUGE beer aficionado so the prospect of dining at a lager house was a delight for him. He was absolutely not disappointed. Though we did wait a very long time to get a table, it was well worth it. We were very lucky to have Dave as our server and he was absolutely outstanding. Not only was he well versed in the menu, but his knowledge of the dozens and dozens of beers available was marvelous. He had absolutely perfect timing as a server and, though the restaurant was packed, we never felt rushed or forgotten. Dave took the time to discuss the details of the beers with my husband and even brought a few small tasters for my husband to try so as he could make the appropriate choices for his palate as the night went on.
Our meals were fresh and very tasty. The menu provides a good variety to meet whatever you might be in the mood for. Though it is a lager house, the mixed cocktails were also very good. The portions were far too large to finish but the take-away made excellent leftovers.
My husband and I love to travel and are foodies. We have the occasion to meet many servers. Dave has a passion for what he does and excels at it. He is an asset to the restaurant and a gem for diners who have the chance to meet him. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant and look forward to another trip to Cincinnati so we can stop in here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveThisLife07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Cincinnati 'Must'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Moerlein Lager House features great food,great beer, and what a view !

We had lunch there this past weekend and everything was excellent. The menu has a little bit of everything and the beer list is very impressive. The decor is upscale, but still captures a 'pub' feel.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TF066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great views, good food, cold beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We like to stop bu the Lager House before a Reds game, and have yet to ever be disappointed with the service or food. Yes, the prices are a little bit higher than what you pay at other places in town, but you must remember that you are sitting along the Ohio River right next to Great American Ballpark and Paul Brown Stadium. That being said, our food has always been very good, exactly what we ordered, excellent brews, the service friendly and not pushy. The decor is modern/warehouse style and one interesting tidbit is when you walk in they have a gold homeplate on the floor... this is where 1st base was located in the old Riverfront Stadium, so that gives you an idea of the location of this restaurant. If you're visiitng Cincinnati, especially in the warmer weather, I would recommend a stop at the Moerlein Lager House.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gsdull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Great for groups, not for dates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The food is great restaurant (not bar) food. The view of the suspension bridge and the river is the absolute best in the Cincinnati area. The decor is warm, modern, and attractive. The beer is great, as you'd expect. Our server was knowledgeable and available.

For a fun, boisterous group, I'd recommend this place.

But...I should be able to give Moerlein's five stars. So why only three stars? Two reasons:

1) The noise. This place needs some sound deadening panels hung from the high ceiling in the worst way. The noise on a Friday night varied between punishing and a-jet-just-took-off loud. That's fixable, and you'll see that as a constant in many reviews, so it's disconcerting that it hasn't been fixed.

2) Lousy place for a date. Aside from the noise, the few two-top tables are stuck in aisleways away from the view and near the kitchen, or in a corner near the kitchen. (and yes, we had reservations) This place is simply not set up for couples.

Both of those problems are fixable, and I hope someone at the restaurant actually reads their reviews.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moerlein Lager House also viewed

 
Cincinnati, OH
 

Been to Moerlein Lager House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing