We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bonne Cuisine; Lackluster Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste of Belgium - OTR

Taste of Belgium - OTR
Reserve with OpenTable
Taste of Belgium - OTR is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 51 Dessert in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Belgian, European, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Taste of Belgium serves Belgian food with a twist. If it's not Belgian, we "Belgianize" it. We serve breakfast, lunch, dinner and one-of-a-kind weekend brunch. We have a full bar and a wide selection of Belgian beers on draft (24) and in bottle. And we serve the absolute best waffles.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
207 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bonne Cuisine; Lackluster Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The choice of menu items is very good and the preparation is very good as well. The escargots are well prepared and presented with a wonderful garlic butter sauce. The carbonnades are also melt-in-your-mouth in a deliciously rich sauce. Food service at the bar can use some help - while the bartender was conversant with the menu and pleasant, he was far more interested in serving drinks to single females in questionable dress as opposed to ensuring everyone was taken care of.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CVGJetGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    113
    40
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brunch Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I recently went to Taste of Belgium for Sunday brunch. The wait was a bit long but we were able to grab a seat at the bar. We ordered the Goetta Hash with a fried egg on top and a Chicken Omelet and a waffle. Everything was amazing. You can get a pack of 3 waffles to go and eat later in the week.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LongboatKey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Probably Better For Brunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

I heard so many great and lovely things about TOB that I finally had a chance to try it myself.
A friend and I went there around 6:00 pm on a Thursday evening before a show. First off, let me say I really liked the atmosphere and the refurbished building. Original floors and ceilings.
Our server arrived and she recommended the chicken and waffles which looked good-on the menu-.so I ordered it. Coffee to drink. The food was brought out and I have to say the portion was a bit small for the price of $14. The waffle was really small and had a very tough consistency. The flavor was bland. The chicken was fried with hot sauce topping it. The dish is also served with a very small mixed greens salad on the plate as well. I liked the dressing on the salad. I believe it was a vinaigrette The portion did not fill me up for a dinner. Let's just say I was not all that impressed with this dish. The service was fine but nothing in the way of outstanding. I would be willing to comeback again and try something else. I think this place is probably better for brunch. .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our delicious waffle sandwiches while eating here for brunch during the holidays. I got the McWaffle. My husband and our other friend got the Brunch Burger. We also had Crepes and Mimosas. All in all, a wonderful dining experience in my opinion. Tummy very satisfied!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun with delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We often eat here after a show at the Ensemble theatre. The beer selection is great and each comes in its own particular glass. The food is heavy and rich. The atmosphere is lively but too noisy. The most popular dish is the chicken and waffles but the hamburgers are wonderful with the best fries in the city.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hamlet06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Belgium - OTR also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Belgium - OTR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing