We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Waffles”

Taste of Belgium - OTR
Ranked #3 of 50 Dessert in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Taste of Belgium serves Belgian food with a twist. If it's not Belgian, we "Belgianize" it. We serve breakfast, lunch, dinner and one-of-a-kind weekend brunch. We have a full bar and a wide selection of Belgian beers on draft (24) and in bottle. And we serve the absolute best waffles.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Waffles”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great place to share a cup of coffee/cappuccino and try their waffles
They also sell sweet crepes.

I have yet to try the mussels (served only at diner).

Definitely recommend it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ezzine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    123
    43
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
louisville, ky USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not just a bakery”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great little drop-in spot with super wait staff, great food choices and prices in trendy over-the-rhine hood. i wish i had taken some baked goods back to the hotel for morning coffee.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvg
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just like in Europe”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I liked the authentcity. There are Belgian Waffles with little beads of crystallized beet sugar buried inside, more Belgian beers and ales than you could shake a stick at, In Europe when it gets warm they open up the outdoor seating. A few days ago it hit 70 degrees F (IN JANUARY) and out came the tables and umbrellas....so unlike the usual behavior in the U.S. There was nothing I disliked.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank drmmcvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Waffles!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The waffles are the star of this restaurant, and deservedly so. They are excellent and unique, and worth the trip. They also serve a variety of special beers, so there's an active beer scene as well. My only gripe about the food is that things often aren't super hot. I have some sympathy for this, as items like waffles and crepes are hard to keep hot for very long, but I wish they had runners or some way to get food out to people immediately. A solution for this is to get the waffles to go, which they will happily sell you, and heat them at home. This is VERY popular with our kids!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelpro513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First Choice Locally for Family Celebrations”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We first selected this restaurant because of our fond memories of a trip to Belgium where we enjoyed great food and Belgium Beers. This establishment has a good selection on tap which I prefer, Since are first visit fond memories are not the only reason to visit but making new family memories while enjoying the fabulous foods. Each time we visit it is difficult to select the meal because we enjoy most of the items on the menu. Particular favorites are Fondu Parmesan (Belgian cheese croquettes),Brussels sprouts (garlic, onions, bacon) to start , Waffle n’chicken (local chicken, Ohio maple syrup, hot sauce, salad),Carbonnades à l’OTR (six hours beer-braised Belgian beef stew) or Moules-Frites (2lbs of mussels and fries) for the main course, and for dessert a Waffle & fruit or Belgian chocolate mousse. We have not been disappointed yet. The servers are attentive and knowledgeable. We love the building it is in and the art on the walls. The tables are well situated to by windows. Taste Of Belgium is located in an area of the city , Over the Rhine , that experiencing a welcomed renewal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Belgium - OTR also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Belgium - OTR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing